We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
13
30
35
27
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
30
35
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreflat screen tvpleasant stayfamily roomone night staymetro
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 139 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thankfully i'm almost recovered from my stay at the Carlton.

This hotel took me right back to my days backpacking Phnom Penh "flea pit" in Cambodia (those who have been will understand). Sadly i had forgotten my flip flops on my trip to the Carlton, which meant the disturbing prospect of walking bare foot on the carpet.

The carpet did prove a welcome distraction however, during the period of acclimatisation on entering the room whilst one tries to come to terms with the dank repulsive smell. Sat on the bed holding in the urge to be sick, one can look back to the past. The numerous snail trails, iron burns and general filth suggests the carpet has led a "good life" and one can only imagine what it has endured.

Still, i did enjoy a very good nights sleep as i packed an effective set of earplugs (Cambodia flea pit experience once again) which prevented me being awoken by the screams, shouts and bottle smashing from people outside. Unfortunately they were not effective to drawn out the sound of someone vomiting next door...

Waking somewhat refreshed i looked forward to a shower, placed my wash bag on the shelf in the bathroom and turned to switch on the shower. A loud bang altered me to fact the shelf had fallen from the wall.

The only thing left to raise my mood was a good full English breakfast. However, i should have known better as the only offering was a couple of soggy pastries, a block of cheese and plate of ham. I don't think i have even eaten less at an all-you-can eat breakfast.

Still i escaped with my health... This and the very helpful friendly staff and free carpark (despite being blocked in for 3 hours) means the Carlton escapes a 1 star from me.

Room Tip: Hold your nose and pray
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smally_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Must be able to fix loose taps, wobbly floor tiles, holes in carpet, creaky doors, squeaky floor boards, wiring faults, clanking plumbing, crooked lighting and much more. Situation vaccant due to under-investment for many years. Friendly enough colleagues to work with. Drunk customers to put up with. Free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Needed a hotel when staying in Newcastle for a school reunion. This was a reasonable price and didn't look to be too close to the hag/sten madness

Impressions of the reception area were mixed. Staff were helpful and friendly - furniture a bit shabby.

Rooms were ok. Carpets a but grubby - bathroom looked as though it had been refurbished recently which was nice.

All in all not too noisey although floorboards above creaked during night :)

Room Tip: Avoid the front at weekends
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the evening as part of a birthday night out with the girls. The rooms were fine, clean and basic, There was a fridge full of fresh orange juice and kitkats which did come in handy at 4.30 when we stumbled in! Excellent location, bang in the middle of osbourne road and parking round the back of the hotel. Just be aware that you have to apy a £30 deposit per person if you book more than one room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_wLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel was excellent value for the price. The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant downstairs were good with simple but tasty food at very reasonable prices. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less likely to have noise from the bar downstairs.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews