We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly people, clean hotel but!”
Review of Bentley's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentley's Hotel
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“friendly people, clean hotel but!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Arrived for a one night stay, friendly welcome, clean hotel, good sized room, the hotel has a coffee shop which serves food. we had a light lunch and the food was good. However because the hotel has a coffee shop there is no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which is ok till the coffee shop closes at tea time till next morning. In the room the bedding was clean but well worn and could have done with being replaced and I could feel the springs in the bed also the bathroom door had no handle on the inside so you could not close it when you went in..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    18
    8
    13
See reviews for
15
15
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently stayed at bentlys hotel for a friends birthday weekend in newcastle. we paid £50 each for hotel and "party package" which included vouchers to get into 5 clubs/pubs with que jump and free entry. most places we went to had no ques anyway and we still had to pay to get into 2 clubs anyway! the price of a single room which i stayed in was £25 for the night, so we were conned out of the other 25 really!

On arrival we were each asked to give a £25 deposit incase of damages!

we were lead up some creaky stairs dragging our suitcases behind us to a very dark, dimly lit hallway, where we were handed our keys. I was given a single room.

When i opened the door to my room i couldnt believe the size of it. literally had room for a single bed, the "en suite" was very handy, you could use the toilet and have a shower at the same time it was so small! the shower was very weak and very old!

Toiletries consisted of one very small bar of soap, but there was a bible in the bedside table!

all night the floorboards were creaking, you can hear every door open and close in the building and i am a very deep sleeper!

the hotel is occupied by dss residents, and mainly used for stag and hen parties. so if your looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing then do not stay here!

we arrived at about 4pm, and at half 4 we went downstairs to the cafe, run by whoever is on the front desk of the hotel at the time, we were told there was no more hot food but he could make us toasties and sandwitches which we ate- nothing special.

2 of my friends bought chocolate bars, a cream egg that was out of date by 18 months and another by 6 months, when we told him, he looked at the wrapper and said, "i cant even see it" then did nothing!

we were told breakfast would be served between 8am and half 9. needless to say we didnt make it, when we went down at half 10 for breakfast, i ordered some toast and went to use the peanut butter which was also 14 months out of date!

ok for literally a bed, but not for anything slighly nice!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Mold
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room had been booked by someone for our people. If i had known what sort of place it was i would have gone somewhere else but that's another story.
When we first arrived it said it all really. Straight away the manager insisted that everyone pay a £25.00 deposit (in case of damages). There was no warning from anyone about this.
The day staff had an attitude of if you don't like it go somewhere else. The guy who worked the night shift was ok though.
My room was very small with no en-suite and i had to share the toilet / shower facilities with other guests staying on that floor.
The remote control for the t.v. was not working and the member of staff on day shift was unhelpful with dealing with this issue.
When i asked for extra towels i was told by the day member of staff that he had given me towels yesterday and that i shouldn't expect anymore and to just dry them out myself. Basil Faulty would have been proud of him, i wasn't.
Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Fairly good service but the food was not up to standard (hard egg, sausages appeared to have been reheated, etc.).
Location of the accommodation is very out of town from the main area (very friendly Chinese takeaway next door though with excellent food). The local walk back from the main area appears to be a muggers paradise as it was very dark with lots of people standing in the darkness (although we encountered no hassle) for no other reason other than what appeared to be people watching.
I will not be staying there again and in my opinion i wouldn't advise anyone else too either if they want a service beyond one star(at best).

Room Tip: If you insist on staying there book a first floor up room and no matter what ever room you do book i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Bentley's Hotel last weekend (18th-20th November 2011) in a small group age range 33 to 75. If you want 5* accomodationdo not stay here, if you want low cost clean functional rooms with friendly helpful staff then this is for you.

I stayed in a single room which was small but had an integral shower, wc, basin, wardrobe and TV. Everything was clean, towels were provided, heating and hot water worked ok. Bed was comfortable and double glazing dampened most road noise although the floorboards do creak! There is an upstairs and a downstairs lounge which are comfortable and make good meeting points. Ironing facilities were also available in the downstairs lounge.

Breakfast was simple good food and provided a good start to the day. Staff were happy to retain our cases in the office after we checked out as we had a late flight.

This is basic accomodation with small rooms but if you simply want a base close to the center of Newcastle I would thoroughly recomment it!

Room Tip: Some rooms are not en-suite so if this is important i'd confirm on booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Unfortunately there is no real advice to provide but factual information. Feel free to spend money on an attic room that is an ensuite. It is exactly a cramped room with a one and half sized bed with a sink and very small loo. tiny tiny tiny room. High up and very paper thin doors that offer absolutely no security. breakfast ok.
Next time i will spend the extra £10 and have a cleaner, safer, more mod cons, more spacious and in a better area.
Your choice.

Room Tip: check tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

while some people paid a fortune no breakfast in travel lodges etc, this hotel is family friendly and welcoming they do have everything on the door step for a choice of food take away plus transport to city centre and also a lounge area where you can eat your food, or store it, and even heat it up.
the welcome was friendly i stayed on ground floor room 18 2 bedroom was very clean , no noise didn't even notice i was near main door.
The breakfast was excellant value and had a fussy teen with me and her breakfast was cooked to order wasn't a problem ! Taxi from Central Station a Fiver, while i have seen comments on rough area mmmm maybe you need to look outside your own door everyone i spoke to in the area helpful and lovely, the cafe is very modern and stylish and menu would please alot ! i would defo reccomend and stay again, what you pay for you get and more!

Room Tip: Don't be put of this hotel because of location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcewan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We assumed we had been given an en suite room as this is what we had asked for. When we got there it was a twin room high up in the attic, with the nearest toilet two floors down. There was one shower for the rooms with no en suite, and one toilet, and this had no hand basin. The room had no tea making facilities, and only a paper cup on the hand sink for teeth cleaning.
Bed was uncomfortable with flimsy quilts. Every floorboard creaked, and when needing the loo in the middle of the night, it was a trek down. The hotel takes a lot of stag and hen parties, and while there we were overrun with a noisy stag party. The communal lounge was taken over by those permenant DHSS residents.
Breakfast - no juice available, no fruit, no choice. Basic cooked breakfast that was burnt. Made my whole stay in Newcastle unbearable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liza16SouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
Best Western Ryokan Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Hotel

Property: Bentley's Hotel
Address: 427 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 8RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bentley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing