We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit to report!”

Silk Room Restaurant & Champagne Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Silk Room Restaurant & Champagne Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Silk Room Restaurant and Champagne Bar is situated at the heart of Newcastle upon Tyne Quayside and has developed a reputation for fine local cuisine, great service and relaxed atmosphere . This stylish Newcastle restaurant won a North East Restaurant of the Year Award and is perfect for dining out in Newcastle for any occasion. With the largest selection of Champagne in the North East, Silk Room is a perfect venue to celebrate in style. This Newcastle Quayside restaurant and also has private dining and corporate buffet facilities and can accommodate large group reservations. Silk Room simply is the number one restaurant choice for Newcastle upon Tyne.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great visit to report!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked well in advance due to its popularity and pleased we did - people turned away at door. Great choice of food and not too many. Quality & Quantity of food first class. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Pleasantly surprised by bill considering how much food and drink our group had. Perfect for those special occasion and intimate atmosphere. Two visits now and no complaints at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moomooross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    123
    71
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time back and just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I love this place, the ambiance and the atmosphere is fabulous, but best of all is the food. A must place to visit, the steaks although not huge are really tasty and just enough to fill that important place! We will be back !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

First time visit, service was attentive and not over the top. Very knowledgable waiter on the food, wines and champagne. Really enjoyed the experience and will definitely be returning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good meal, attention to detail would of made it Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Family meal here when visiting the Uni. My Birthday so we wanted something special. Good range of dishes on the menu and everyone found something that they wanted, we had 3 steaks and the burger. Tables very crowed together although restaurant not full so slightly unnecessary to be so squished up. Waitress pleasant enough but we had to tell her how we wanted our steaks cooked as she left the table, this is a basic. Steaks served on boards, may be trendy but impractical, once sauce poured on everything running off the board. Several staff on duty but difficult to gauge who was in charge as no dominant personality in the room. Lights dimmed in the middle of our meal, which made the place a bit gloomy, and we could hardly see the dessert menu as they had dimmed down so much. Creme brulee for dessert, pleasant. Overall we enjoyed out night out but would not rush back, not special enough for the prices being charged.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can not fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my first visit to this restaurant and after reading many reviews i decided it was long overdue. whilst booking the table the staff were lovely it didn't feel as though they were trying to push pre-ordering drinks etc like it sometimes feels with other places. We arrived earlier than our booking but the table was all ready and we were seated straight away. The drinks selection was amazing and we struggled deciding what we wanted. My partner had the poached eggs and i had the salmon fishcakes for starter, they came in good time and were absolutely perfect. for our mains we both had the kangaroo (after recommendations from family) and we were not disappointed. The waiter recommended medium rare, but after i asked for it to be as rare as possible he explained how the more rare it comes the nicer it tastes and they just advise that it is not cooked any more than medium rare, when they came the portion size was huge, usually when you go to a nice restaurant you pay alot for a tiny portion however here we were not disappointed. If i had of known how much was going to come i may have skipped the started. Just as we were finishing our mains a big party came in and were seated just behind us, I began to worry at this point as I had noticed they only had a few staff in and other tables as well and it ran through my mind that we may get forgotten about due to this large group however this was not the case the staff continued to be attentive. They brought dessert menus over and we were both unfortunately way too full.
The staff there (i wish i could remember the guys name) were absolutely outstanding, so attentive and friendly, they even gave us a complimentary shot as they made a mistake on our bill (which was corrected before we even received it) The combination of the staff, the food and the atmosphere there has left me positive i will be back here in the future.
Possibly the only negative thing i have to say about the entire thing is that a service charge is included on the bill :- although i was more than happy to leave a tip it would have been nicer to be optional.
Over all A*

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachaelHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Room Restaurant & Champagne Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Silk Room Restaurant & Champagne Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing