We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab service and rocking atmospher!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Living Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #479 of 1,252 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated on Grey Street in Newcastle, The Living Room is a contemporary bar and restaurant with a laid-back vibe that keeps the locals coming back for more. During the day, it's the ideal place to do business over lunch or refuel after a day of shopping. In the evening, the modern eatery fills up with a lively post-work crowd catching up over cocktails. The fixed price menu is great value for money and there is plenty to choose from with all our dishes made with top quality seasonal ingredients. With dishes such as Thai fish cakes, Monkfish and Pork Blocks that not only taste great but look it too why not come and try?
2 reviews
“Fab service and rocking atmospher!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We came to The Living Room last Saturday, my self and four of my girl friends. As we arrived the bar was heaving with a great atmospher however we were quickly served and advised about cocktails by the bar tender Ram she had us set on 5 French martini's. They were fab, we told Her that we had a table booked for 8:30 she pointed us in the right direction. We were greeted quickly and politely and took to our table there was a wonderful musician playing a beautiful piano we could not believe how great the restaurant was. When at the table we were then approached by our waitress Anna she told us about the menu and every thing else we needed to know she told us to go for some grazers/tapas to shear as we were having a girly night. We ordered 7 to shear excluding the black pudding donuts they were out of this world what a great new way of dining! Totally Love It. We ended up relaxing and enjoying cocktails for the rest of our evening with bubbly servise. All round 10 out for 10 would advise any one to go for great food and great servise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emilyghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    114
    58
    68
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just WOW....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I heard many good things from friends about The Living Room and so thought it was time to try for myself and WOW i was not disappointed!!

Having booked a table for Saturday at 8.30 we arrived early and went for a drink in the bar, the atmosphere was vibrant and fun and put us in a good mood for the evening ahead. After ordering a couple of delicious cocktails (2for1 till 8pm) we went into the restaurant.

Our server Joanna spoke to us about the menu and talked us through a couple of the more unusual dishes, with her guidance we went for the Prawn Cocktail, Plant pot crudites and a Table BBQ to share.

The starters looked incredible with the prawn cocktail being completely unlike any prawn cocktail we had ever had and the crudites looked like something from Willy Wonka but tasted amazing. Finally we got the bbq and this was unbelievable starting from when the lid was lifted revealing the bbq smoke to the taste of all the different bits of lamb it was delicious.

Our friends were not wrong and we will definately be back to sample more of the dishes especially the deserts that we couldnt manage! Kudos to Joanna as well she was fantastic

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scousey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
1 review
“A great afternoon - well looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and myself visited the living room for the cocktail making and afternoon tea offer which was a birthday present from a friend. We were unsure of what it entailed however when we arrived we were looked after by David behind the bar straight away and felt at ease. His cocktail making class was informative and great fun we thoroughly enjoyed it..afterwards we were shown into the restaurant for afternoon tea which was excellent and also greatly enjoyed.This is the first time we have visited the living room however we will certainly return as our attention was brought to some eary evening menu offers which look great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Being a regular at The Living Room back home, i found the service here quite appalling! The place was empty when we arrived (group of 4) so we sat down & waited to be served...guy behind the bar stood talking & ignored us. Waited 15 mins then decided to go to bar & order. Asked for a gluten free option....another staff member said he would get a menu for me..actually some help. Waited 6 mins till he printed 1 off...was same menu with gluten free written on top! Asked about the 23% off all food as advertised on website, then waited another 10 mins on the sheet we had to then fill out! Then waited over 45 mins for our food!! So in total spent 1 & half hours just sat about waiting...10 minutes eating! Would not recommend due to staff being not interested & obviously not bothered about serving us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimiedollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastlepa_11, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear about your experience at The Living Room Newcastle.

If you would like to discuss this with us further please contact us on 0191 255 4450.

Kind Regards,
Louise Fawcett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful port in a storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was stranded in Newcastle after a very long days work. The staff were very helpful and the bed was very comfy. The shower was good and so was breakfast. I booked it online 15 minutes before I arrived at the door late in the evening and they had my details ready. nothing more to ask for really.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

Cramlington, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing