We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“work night out”
Review of La Vina - Grey St Newcastle - CLOSED

La Vina - Grey St Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The newest addition to our family of 5 restaurants, La Vina Newcastle is nestled just a stone's throw from the buzz of the city centre. A relaxed retreat from the bustle of Grey Street above, this secluded subterranean gem will give you the warmest of Mediterranean welcomes. Whether you're unwinding after work with one of our exquisite wines, en-route to the nearby theatre or seeking a hub for throwing a sincerely Spanish fiesta, La Vina Newcastle offers you a finer-dining experience. Our chefs are passionate about their food, freshly preparing our dishes using only the finest ingredients, seducing your senses time after time. Softly lit and soaked in ambience, we also have a stylish private room for exclusive entertaining....Whether for business or pleasure!
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“work night out”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I personally think tapas is suited to a small party. There was 13 in our party, a few too many to share which is what tapas is all about. Saying that we ordered individual tapas to our tastes. I chose the paella which was ample for one and would definately recommend it. Priced at 10 95 which I think was a fair price. A few if the party had the pork cheeks which they commented on as being really good. I think it could work out pricey if ordering a range of dishes to taste.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    109
    31
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely tapas, delicious, great value and excellent service.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We popped in for a late lunch instead of going for the usual sandwich, really pleased we did as we had a lovely meal. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was fantastic. Will definitely go again and recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roddaz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to write a review about us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gluten free heaven with exceptional service!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had an amazing trip to La Vina. From the moment we stepped through the door we received probably the best service I have ever had in a restaurant. The waiter was welcoming, friendly, well informed and exceedingly helpful. Both of us have special dietary requirements (both coeliacs) and, not only was the menu clearly labelled and full of choice, the waiter and chef were able to amend some of the other dishes so that we could enjoy those too. Both the waiter and the chef were well informed about this which meant we were able to relax and enjoy our meal and not worry about any possible after effects! There was even a gluten free beer which we just had to try even though it was lunchtime!

The food was delicious and not too oily which was a welcome change to the limp tapas meals I'd had in the past that had been slathered with oil. The pork cheeks were especially delicious.

I strongly recommend visiting here especially if you or your friends are gluten free. It is rare to find places that are convincingly gluten free and offer such great choice - dining here was a very welcome change to a coeliac's usual dining experience! We will be returning. Many times!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review :) and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentines Day”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Second visit to La Vina Newcastle and again the food was great - really tasty and the service was also good considering the restaurant was really busy for St Valentines Day.

On the down side its hard to read the menus because of the poor lighting so maybe a bolder type face and larger print will resolve that without detracting from the atmosphere. The second point is the tapas portions are a little on the small side and despite having around six different Tapas portions we still felt a little hungry and neither of us are big eaters

Would I recommend La Vina absolutely the points above are feedback and not complaints

Rob

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, new menu change soon and I've already mentioned to have it on a larger print.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish tapas food and service”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

La Vina manages to capture the relaxed atmosphere of an authentic Spanish tapas bar even though it is quite a large restaurant. The service was friendly, quick and excellent - not something that can be said of every restaurant on a busy Saturday evening in central Newcastle! We ordered some tapas dishes to share between the two of us and it was so tasty we asked for extra bread to mop up the sauces! The bill came to about £35 including a glass of sangria, we thought that was very reasonable considering we'd just paid £14 for two glasses of wine in a bar across the road!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and review our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vina - Grey St Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing