We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal pre theatre venue”
Review of La Vina - Grey St Newcastle - CLOSED

La Vina - Grey St Newcastle
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The newest addition to our family of 5 restaurants, La Vina Newcastle is nestled just a stone's throw from the buzz of the city centre. A relaxed retreat from the bustle of Grey Street above, this secluded subterranean gem will give you the warmest of Mediterranean welcomes. Whether you're unwinding after work with one of our exquisite wines, en-route to the nearby theatre or seeking a hub for throwing a sincerely Spanish fiesta, La Vina Newcastle offers you a finer-dining experience. Our chefs are passionate about their food, freshly preparing our dishes using only the finest ingredients, seducing your senses time after time. Softly lit and soaked in ambience, we also have a stylish private room for exclusive entertaining....Whether for business or pleasure!
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal pre theatre venue”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

he main motivation for this review is a big thank you to the marvelous staff who fed us at breakneck pace, against an impossible deadline, and then chased us up Grey Street to return an iPhone left in haste.

As lovers of Spanish food it has to be said this is not ground breaking tapas but perfectly passable, chain restaurant fare. That said, on this showing, it is equal to the independent alternatives in the town and the venue and atmosphere are better.

Coming back next time we are in town

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spwoodthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, General Manager at La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    109
    31
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just average”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

3rd time i've been and first 2 were great. This visit was a bit disappointment to be honest. atmosphere was lovely but the food was mixed and a bit over priced in places - £4 for 3 slices of tomato and about 1/4 red onion and the sangria jug was more like a pint glass. Calamari was soggy as if it had waited on the pass for ages or had been covered to keep warm. first lot of bread was nice but second one came out totally soggy and dripping in grease so we left it. waiter was pleasant but constantly tried to recommend the most expensive things on the menu which got right on my nerves! Wont hurry back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccreedy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas in great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A very good find in the centre of Newcastle. There are so many chain tapas restaurants now, but this is individual and far better than anything I have tasted in the UK for a long time. We each had a glass of a lovely fresh Albariño which woke the taste buds beautifully. We ate just a small selection of dishes, but these included lovely, well-cooked calamares, which easily avoided the rubbery consistency that is so often the dominant feature of this dish. The pork and beef meatballs in a mustard sauce (Albondigas) were delicious as were the croquettes stuffed with jambon in a bechamel sauce. We also shares a good potato dish (Patatas Pobre - how nice to have an alternative to Patatas Bravas). Friendly welcome too, and all in all a very good experience. Can't wait to return and explore the menu in more depth.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went here for a pre-show dinner before going to Theatre Royal.
We had to try hard to find a waiter bur finally found one, we should have noticed the signals!
There was only one table occupied, we ordered the pre-show meal and a couple of beers.
When the 'food' arrived it was a selection of mildly flavoured potatoes, some small chorizo's that looked as though they came from a tin? and some luke warm meatballs
This is the worst service and the worst food that I have ever had in Newcastle
I wont be going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polytechnic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant Service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We Dropped in to La Vina last night for dinner ( Sept 24th)
The food was excellent as was the friendly professional service.I think you,ll find this little restaurant is a hidden gem in the heart of Newcastle.

Big thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martinward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vina - Grey St Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing