We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Not in centre of town but quiet. Perfect. Will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing. Seriously! The only possible neg. for some people may be that it isn't in the centre of town. But for me this wasn't an issue when I was seeing friends out of town. The location makes this place quiet at night and you can get onto the main roads quickly to get out of town.

The staff I encountered were very friendly, incredibly helpful and patient and very welcoming. The breakfast included (buffet) was substantial and food was constantly topped up so hot. It taste good!

The free Wifi is a must as is the secure parking (inside and outside, with cameras). I asked for a DVD player and it was provided. No iPod docking stations though. I brought my own.

The bed was incredibly comfortable as were the pillows and the rooms had 'black out' curtains. The shower pressure perfect (great toiletries and towels) and bathroom not too small. The whole apartment spotless and clean. I had an incredibly comfortable stay.

The lifts worked and a plus when luffing heavy luggage up and down.

Home from home. Will return. It was the same price as a hotel except it felt like a little flat of my own in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Just asked for a room not near the lifts but to be honest, the foot traffic outside my room at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredbunny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Despite May being as cold as March, the Staybridge made my few days in Newcastle perfectly enjoyable. Their service was friendly and helpful as promised - I almost had to double-check I was still in the UK. The location is a bit charmless, surrounded by student dorms, but it's only a short walk to the Quayside and a touch further to town, so that's no real impediment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding my team - they will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The rooms are great, the staff are great, the breakfast is great – I could go on. This hotel is ideal for regular travellers who want the comfort of your own home in a hotel. This mini-apartments are equipped with everything you would need to relax in the evenings – cooking facilities and couch being the main attractions. Everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a quiet area just a few minutes walk from the city centre so you get the best of both worlds. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. On Tuesday to Thursday evenings you have a reception with complimentary drinks and finger food, a great treat. The breakfast is complimentary and self-service – it has everything you would want in a breakfast. You can order in take-aways in the evening and eat them in the comfort of the lounge. You even have an on-site pantry that you can buy food from to prepare in your room. Given the choice, I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Newcastle!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdashO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for posting this lovely review, we appreciate your kind comments! Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First impressions are of hotel that is clean, modern, proffesional and very helpful staff. Inside the reception in the corner is a tripadvisor award. No wonder, this really is a nice place to stay.

We stayed in a really well appointed room on the 6th floor and so the views over the quayside area were very good indeed. Everything that you need in a room was there, even though we didn't use the kitchen facilities as we ate out. By the way its a very short walk into the quayside area of restuarants and bars, but the hotel itself is in a very peaceful area with surprisingly little traffic.

Off street parking is availible at the hotel, although we did think the £8 per night charge was a little bit of a surprise. But hey it is near the city centre I suppose and its very secure. Breakfast at the hotel is everything you expect. A cooked buffet style arrangement and then all of the juices, pastries and yogurts you could wish. A word about the Bagels, fantastic, the best we've ever tasted. All in all no hesitation in a 5 award, and well deserved.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room, great views over the river to the Baltic and the Sage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Brand new hotel just out of the way from the hustle and bustle of the City but only a 5 min walk into town. The rooms are very spacious and cater for long stays as well as overnight. I will definately return here when travelling upto the North East.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobsterWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post a review - we really do appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was a amazed at the beautiful facilities at this hotel, Gemma on reception is a little angel. The rooms are tremendous and caters for everything. Breakfast is basic if you don't mind just having ceral/juice/coffee etc. I would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, Gemma will be delighted that she made your stay memorable. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Staybridge for 4 nights, recently.. We really enjoyed the experience. It's very good value for money. The suite was small, but clean and well-lit. It was well laid out. The free internet was great. The TV had many channels. The kitchen was convenient, well-stocked, and easy to use. The bathroom was clean and modern. There were plenty of outlets (so we could charge our devices). We found the staff very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. We were particularly pleased to find a 24-hour convenience store in the lobby. Great idea! Note also: there are free drinks and snacks in the lobby on weeknights; I had some cheese and crackers. There is also a laundry room on-site, though we didn't use it. My only minor (tiny tiny) complaint is that I was unsure where to take our trash during days on which there was no room cleaning. With that tiny caveat, I would say that this was a really excellent hotel experience in its category. This hotel gave us a good base for exploring Newcastle and the surrounding area, and the staff made it a very pleasant experience indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $100 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing