We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great room, great breakfast, excellent service.

Stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite with living room. I believe some rooms are a studio.
Rooms was stylish, modern and spacious with a good bathroom and a kitchen with full size fridge freezer! There was a tv in the living room and in the bedroom.

Breakfast is advertised as continental but there was a cooked English breakfast, though I didn't try it. There are lots of Kelloggs cereal in proper boxes, not the mini ones that you have to open about 3 of to fill your bowl. There's also toast, croissants and bagels, all of which looked nice.

There is a small 24hr shop where you pay at the front desk, I really good touch. A colleague of mine went to the gym and said it has cardio machines and weights machines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you Nick, we really appreciate when our guests take the time to leave us reviews. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    230
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
169
608
74
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and chose Staybridge Suites in Newcastle for a weekend visit. And all the reviews were right! From the friendly welcome at the front desk to the very good breakfast choices to the short walk down to the Quayside for the Sunday Market alongside the river...it was all just as other reviewers had said! We asked for an upper level room on the river side of the hotel and got the best room in hotel! It was very clean, comfortable, and had all the conveniences of a suite instead of a room--comfortable sofa, refrigerator, two TVs(!), and free high speed wi-fi. Throw in the free parking, and no problem at all when we asked if we could leave the car there for a two or three hours after checkout to go into the city center for lunch, and there is literally nothing to write a negative comment about! And did we mention the friendly staff? Nothing was too much trouble! Would definitely stay there again...in fact, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: 6th floor, odd-numbered rooms give a great view of the bridges and The Sage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for very kind review, we love feedback at Staybridge Suites and we're delighted when our guests take the time to leave us reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived for a short trip away and plumped for the already well rated StayBridge Suites, located very near the quayside and not too far from the town either come to think of it. As per the last time the greeting from the staff on reception was very friendly; it felt a bit like welcoming old long lost friends! It certainly reassured the soul after a long journey!

Our suite was well furnished and extremely clean..much respect to the cleaning staff here...I playfully did a 'four in a bed' contestant sweep of the pictures and...nothing! not so much as a fleck! superb! Especially for my OCD other half! The kitchenette is very well equipped but we didn't really use it...save for the fridge to store the beer and wine in...

My husband remarked that he felt 'at home' in the room and not 'just another guest' and I have to say that I agree...it is home from home...

...however...one little gripe...but this is personal to us...is that we would like a bath in our suite as that is the kind of thing one would like to relax in after a bitterly cold but exhilarating walk along the quayside...like I said..a little gripe...but nothing bad!

Breakfast is plentiful but it is not spectacular as perhaps one might find in a small B&B but the hotel does well for the numbers it caters for..and there is plenty of choice for the 'continental' breakfast lovers.

...and I still resent the £8 per day parking charge! I will whinge about this on every review until it stops being added!!

...but it won't stop us returning...hopefully later this year, when the weather is better! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillibetisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad the team greeted you like a long lost friend... as you are one!
We hope to see you later in the year when the weather is better - fingers crossed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here throu out feb and march 2013, I was very surprised at how impressed I was with this hotel. Each room has kitchen making extended stays very comfortable.
The staff however are the real gems- efficient and friendly but not Over the top like most hotels. They make an effort to call you by ur first name rather than 'sir' or 'mr' bollocks.
Manger receptions are an excellent addition and pleasant surprise.
Special mention to Gemma, cat and Gail on reception, nadine, (from the London hotel) for a super night at the reception, Ricky and Patrick for their excellent service. Also for Patrick the manager for putting on a great stpatricks night bash- even if the stew wasn't too Irish!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockmcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review, I so pleased you enjoyed our Manager's Evening Reception, we hope to see at another one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

These apartments are the best I have been to, superb facilities, every thing is catered for, the staff are superb and very friendly. The welcome evenings from 6.30 - 7.30 pm for a free drinks and nibbles are excellent.

Have stayed here twice now. Would recommend this.

Room Tip: Room 217 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharm563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review - we hope to welcome you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I only stayed for 1 night with 3 friends as we were in Newcastle for a concert, we probably could have booked something close to the metro radio arena but chose this instead due to a good deal and we could get interconnecting rooms. Arrival was swift, receptionist was really friendly and very welcoming, this her name was gail. Lovely girl made us feel very welcome. The actual apartments are fantastic, really well equipped and modern. There is a little self service shop in reception, 4 beers for £10 ......not bad at all compared to what other hotels would charge. I kinda wished we had longer here as it was really comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoStu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do appreciate it. I will pass on your comments to Gail - she will be delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked the Staybridge Suites for a match day weekend with my 4-year old son. Normally I would go for the Hotel Indigo or a Holiday Inn but these were fully booked. However, I opted for this hotel as I am a Priority Club member and I am glad that I did.

The service at reception was superb with very friendly and child-friendly staff. The suite was large and very clean with plenty of extras that don't come with a standard hotel room. Breakfast and Wi-Fi are included which makes a difference to an already expensive weekend. The location is around a 15 minute walk from the city centre, or around £5 in a taxi.

Will definitely be back to Staybridge Suites in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSNewcastle, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Newcastle, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Property: Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing