We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Mum, Dad and the Kids' Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
93a Grey Street Apartments
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend stay for two nights. After arriving far later than anticipated (9.45pm rather than 6.30pm) Michael was waiting patiently out in the street to direct us to the apartments and then get us settled in without any fuss.
The location is perfect, right in amongst the city centre shops and within easy walking distance of just about everywhere, saving the hassle and cost of taxis, but still surprisingly quiet despite the Friday and Saturday night revellers outside. They were also perfect for chilling out in if you didn't want to venture out (or had to hang around waiting for the kids to get ready!).
The apartments were very well presented, wonderfully clean, comfortable and spacious and a pleasure to spend time in; a much better option than a hotel in our opinion.
Michael was a great host, very friendly and accommodating and kindly allowed us the use of one of one of our two apartments for an extra hour over the usual check out time.
Couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Both apartments are very similar but (sleep four with one bedroom and a sofabed) but choose the slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pros: Excellent location near shops, restaurants and transport facilities. Very spacious. Apartment is clean and well maintained. Fully equipped kitchen is ideal for self catering. Taxi rank right in front of building.
Cons: Fairly long walk front the entrance of the building to the apartment. Being in a very central location, noise from nearby clubs can be heard at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY IN SEPT 2013

all i could say is that the place is as it seems on the pictures,... wonderfully clean and and maintained.

this was right in the centre so everything was walking distance
great for couples or friends.
the manager was so helpful and gave us his number so if we had issues to contact him which was only a minor issue of the internet kicked us out a few times but i text him and he had someone from BT out within an hr and it was sorted.
Only downfall was the parking but that didn't make a difference as we had such a lovely time.

Definitely recommend this place to everyone, Definitely coming back soon
Love Saren and Raman from Birmingham

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Michael delivered very professional and helpful service. However, the rooms had a very bad odor that we have to buy Room Fragrance air fresher to get rid of bad odor. For four days to clean the room and one set of towels for use of four days is not reasonable. In term of hygiene, it is not appropriate and incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinkTea, Owner at 93a Grey Street Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

The guests arrived on a Monday and they were left with six towels for two persons, the towels were then changed on the Thursday following, we feel that six towels is more than adequate for three nights and the guests were advised in advance that this would be the case.
With regards the bad odor, we have received no other complaints from our previous guests and we also received no complaint from this particular guest, we are totally unaware that there is or was a problem, if guests do not advise us then we cannot rectify the situation for them.
Having visited and cleaned the apartment when the guests vacated there is not a problem with regards odor issues.
We are very disappointed that this guest chose not to tell us of any issues that they had whilst they stayed in the apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in this apartment for two nights in July.We needed to be in the city centre and close to the university so the location was ideal.Clean,modern and very well equipped,this accommodation suited our needs completely.Cafes,shops and restaurants were on the doorstep as well as a taxi rank.On entering the building there was quite a long walk through the building to access the apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Superb apartment in a great city centre location. It was well equiped with a great range of kitchen equipment, china, cutlery, pots/pans etc and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious and modern as were the living area and bedroom; we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hi,
We have had a nice week in a very pleasant apartment in the centre of the city.
Evereything was in good condition and the dishwasher on holiday is always nice.
The host, Michael, was a nice and helpfull person how explaint everything very well.
There were a lot of nice things todo: York, Hadrian's wall, museums, historic buildings and so on.
We recommend the apartment to everbody how wants to stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCB3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#45 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 93a Grey Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 93a Grey Street Apartments

Address: 93A Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $132 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93a Grey Street provides high quality self-catering accommodation for upto four people in the heart of Newcastle's historic Grainger town. The apartments offer one double bedroom as well as a comfortable sofa bed in the open plan lounge. The kitchen offers fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, washer/dryer. All apartments have high-speed internet access at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 93a Grey Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing