We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, but definitely not last!”
Review of A Taste of Persia

A Taste of Persia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First visit, but definitely not last!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended but it's taken us a long time to get there. We booked an early table on a Tuesday evening and the place was quite. Staff were pleasant, efficient and polite - not pushy or over fussy.
Menu was extensive, interesting and quite unusual for those of us unfamiliar with Persian food. The menu might have benefitted from a bit if explanation for some of the more unusual dishes, but this was not a major issue. Portions were very generous (especially main courses) and were nicely presented. Good value for money. Service was prompt, which is not always the case with a larger group (10). The only reason I have given a slightly lower score for atmosphere is because we were actually the only people on 1st floor, but this was probably just due to our booking time. This was a very pleasurable dining experience and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_LLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buke D, Owner at A Taste of Persia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. We are very happy with your comments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    93
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place and felt like the food was great. Was so good we went back the same week.

They have just opened another one in Jesmond so planning to try that one.

The waitress was great at giving advice about the food.

Would go again and would recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phantom1982sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fancy a Fesanjan . . .”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the place for something a little different, beautifully presented food always consistent in
it's flavours using interesting combinations of good fresh food, such as Fesanjan, a chicken stew
made with pomegranite and walnuts...gorgeous. Always have excellent service from very friendly
staff who will make time for a chat. After many visits, still enjoying working my way through as
many tastes of Persia as possible, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fresh food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I try to visit A Taste of Persia as often as I can and I'm always impressed. Last time I visited in was Persian new year and the atmosphere was excellent. The food was fresh, well presented and bountiful. I'm always stuffed after a trip here

On the latest occasion the place was bustling in the afternoon but the waiter was very attentive, even helping me on with my coat at the end. Great service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PikaChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, worth trying.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I went here in February. The food was very nice. The service was not great and one waitress spilt a drink over a friend. She did get her another one for free. The bill came to about £70 for four starters four mains and drinks.
It is well worth trying. I would definatley recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slapnuts316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Persia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to A Taste of Persia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing