We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meat feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Taste of Persia

A Taste of Persia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hartlepool, Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meat feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Liked the downstairs cosy cafe atmosphere, upstairs is a larger dining area and toilets. Service was friendly and smiley, very welcoming. Bottled local real ale was a nice surprise and very tasty at a reasonable price. Ordered meal for 2 (£36) - easily enough for 3 or 4 people. The starter bread was excellent, the aubergine was not to my taste, overpowering tomato taste and would ask for alternative next time. The main course was excellent, beautifully cooked rice, superb grilled lamb fillet, chicken breast and lamb koftas and fresh grilled tomatoes. The home-made date ice-cream was top notch, found the baklava good, but was expecting something special; perhaps stuffing myself on meat did for my taste buds. Turkish coffee was very good. Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HartlepoolGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    91
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good reason to stay at the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Jesmond hotel has 'Taste of Persia' restaurant - ate there for first time and really impressed with quality, taste, presentation and enthusiasm of staff about their food - had good chat about persian food and very interesting. I had chicken and lamb on skewer with saffron rice - sound simple and it was, but so good - succulent, orginal taste not hidden by too much marinade, just really good food and a pleasure to eat. It was quite late (almost 22.00) but no problem and very handy being in hotel I was staying, plus very good value for money and house red very nice, so a bonus. I'd suggest trying the food here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RatRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Vey tasty food we have been there as a family and we had very nice time with perfect and favorit foods with friendly atmosfer.So I recomand to every one for make lovely night with fab dinner try this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank anar e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Portions are huge, the food is lovely and the service is top notch.
I will definately be going again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenloubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average food in a lovely setting with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited this place with friends as we wanted to try something different. Had the nan bread to start which was ok but nothing special. Had the joojeh (marinated chicken) for main and it was OK but again nothing special. I was very disappointed with the food but cannot fault the service. Overall, I think it is slightly over priced and I won't be back in a hurry, however I was the only one out of a party of four who wasn't impressed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Persia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to A Taste of Persia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing