We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose the HdV as we have stayed with this chain many times before and the price was competitive at the time of booking. Having arrived early the staff were very attentive and arranged lunch whilst the room was cleaned. Lunch was not as good as we were expecting but we felt this was probably due to the kitchen being busy preparing for the Valentines dinner that evening. At some point the reception realised it was my birthday and brought over two glasses of champagne, which was a nice thought and much appreciated. The room was ready earlier than advertised and definitely had the Wow factor, beautiful as well as practical - an open plan suite with two baths, double walk in shower and 8ft bed, we didn't really want to leave! That evening we had booked a meal in the hotel restaurant but unfortunately the food whilst not overpriced could have been better. The next morning (bed was amazingly comfortable) the papers failed to arrive and breakfast was seriously disappointing, service was slow, cutlery missing and food over cooked.

The hotel is on a busy road and certainly there were no views from our room but the room itself more than made up for this. The town centre is a pleasant 20 minute walk along the water past the Millennium bridge and whilst we were happy to walk during the day but preferred to take a taxi at night which was approximately £5 each way.

To sum up, we loved the room and throughout the stay the reception staff and bar staff were always enthusiastic and attentive but the restaurant does let it down.

Room Tip: We were in the Dom Perignon - spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    250
    80
    31
    15
See reviews for
87
586
17
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a one night stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We had selected a fairly basic room, but the room itself was large, beautifully upholstered and with a lovely view. However, there was a big problem in that the aircon/heating system wasn't working! Given that it was bloody freezing we were not happy!

To their credit the hotel staff pulled out all the stops and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite at no extra charge. The room was truly spectacular, and the whole stay was superb after that point. A great night's sleep, and two excellent meals in the Bistro. Would heartily recommend the place anybody!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February. Lovely place and friendly staff. We had a brilliant room called Tattinger, very spacious, huge bed, freestanding bath, large walk in shower, magazines, bath robes,etc,etc even an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The room was cold but it was a cold windy night and there were extra heaters you could use. The lounge area was warm and cosy with a nice fire in it,bar area was nice but drinks very expensive. We had a meal in the restaurant from the prix fixe 2 course menu, meal was ok but no veg with the main and we didn't realise this until the meal came. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, which was very good, book it the night before and its cheaper. All in all a lovely place with a nice atmosphere and friendly staff but a bit expensive for drinks and the parking at £10. Would definitely recommend for a treat though and would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliesmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale , England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel. I must say that on a windy Thursday in Newcastle the curb appeal wasn't amazing from the busy road, however as soon as you turn into the courtyard you feel as though you have been transported a million miles away. We were met by an extremely charming young man called Mark, and although we arrived a few hours before our check in time we were given a choice of two available suites.Mark recommended the Muton Rothschild suite because of its amazing views over the Tyne, we were not disappointed. The room was beautiful with a giant arch window overlooking the Tyne for as far as the eye could see. There was a lovely mezzanine level with roll top bath and monsoon shower. A long soak in the bath admiring the view of the river at night was just right after a long day of shopping. With its large seated area and giant bed this room was a lovely treat. Breakfast was delicious, eggs benedict cooked just how I like them. Mark checked us out with a genuine friendliness that would definitely encourage our return. This hotel is a hidden gem, I will return and would reccomend this place for a special treat. Amazing !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful building just set back from the quay. The rooms are spacious with large ensuites. The staff are excellent, all very friendly and welcoming. Would have no worries recommending the hotel to people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrccooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the hotel du vin's Sunday Supplement special offer, where by you get a cheap room so long as you spend a certain amount in the restaurant. As both the rooms and food here at really top notch it's a bargain and well worth looking out for.
Have stayed in a suite and a regular room, both luxurious and love the freebie bathroom goodies. Very quiet, great food and wine, helpful staff, gorgeous sexy room...what more do you need for a break with the Mrs!

Room Tip: Higher up maybe better, as there is a busy road outside. But we've never been effected by noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel. They have converted a characterful building to create the hotel but because the day to day maintenance and service are poor, the whole comes across as pretentious.

My complaints are as follows:-

1. The corridor providing access to the rooms at ground floor level had a terrible pong. I would say there was a problem with the drains.

2. The corridors were cold - there were no visible heaters.

3. My room at the top floor at the front was freezing cold. After I complained the staff tried to sort this but it took until 3am or so to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

4. The lighting in the room was ideal for a honeymoon couple (say) but was hopeless for me as a business visitor having to read through papers after dinner. The room had a desk in the darkest part. I asked for a table lamp or similar, was promised one but none arrived.

5. The food was poor. My starter, a soufflé, was stodgy rather than light and fluffy. My main course of steak hache was grizzly meat, badly presented and offensive in taste. I pointed out the problem with the soufflé but heard nothing. When the main was poor I gave up and did not bother with pudding or indeed breakfast the following morning.

From comments made by front desk staff, the place was probably under-staffed but there was a surfeit of people in the restaurant who did little but engage in their own banter and tittle tattle.

I recommend that this place is avoided.

Kishandes, Maidstone, Kent, UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing