We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor performance by a chain with a good reputation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor performance by a chain with a good reputation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel. They have converted a characterful building to create the hotel but because the day to day maintenance and service are poor, the whole comes across as pretentious.

My complaints are as follows:-

1. The corridor providing access to the rooms at ground floor level had a terrible pong. I would say there was a problem with the drains.

2. The corridors were cold - there were no visible heaters.

3. My room at the top floor at the front was freezing cold. After I complained the staff tried to sort this but it took until 3am or so to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

4. The lighting in the room was ideal for a honeymoon couple (say) but was hopeless for me as a business visitor having to read through papers after dinner. The room had a desk in the darkest part. I asked for a table lamp or similar, was promised one but none arrived.

5. The food was poor. My starter, a soufflé, was stodgy rather than light and fluffy. My main course of steak hache was grizzly meat, badly presented and offensive in taste. I pointed out the problem with the soufflé but heard nothing. When the main was poor I gave up and did not bother with pudding or indeed breakfast the following morning.

From comments made by front desk staff, the place was probably under-staffed but there was a surfeit of people in the restaurant who did little but engage in their own banter and tittle tattle.

I recommend that this place is avoided.

Kishandes, Maidstone, Kent, UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    233
    76
    29
    13
See reviews for
84
557
16
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

we visited this hotel for the first time and can highly recomend it from the reception to the restaurant staff the service to attention and detail was excellant. The dinner served in the Bistro was first class and one of the best meals we have had out for a long time. With a very good wine menu. We can recomend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Our room "TORRES " was very good and very peacefull with good views up the river Tyne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham,england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel;a complimentary upgrade to the Henley Vineyards room certainly did not disappoint! Everything from the entire staff,food quality and housekeeping made for a most enjoyable and relaxing stay;do not stay anywhere else in Newcastle,I am Princess Picky and I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davecaz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Have previously stayed at the hotel and paid for the dinner bed and breakfast. On the Internet it states 3 course al a carte with 1 side and coffee. Previously this is what we got and were told you could order anything from the menu. However this time we were advised that we had a limit of £40 each and anything mover we had to pay for. This is fine but it is not what was described on the Internet offer. The room itself was good and the food we ate was fantastic. My husband went for the festive menu and I opted for the dressed crab to start then the filet steak, both were fantastic. The hotel is a little out of the way but if you are looking for a chill out and good food this is the place to come....I would recommend is place..we have booked for feb 2013...but if you have booked food as well please beware if the hidden costs

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Paid a discounted rate so v good value. Terrace room means its smoker friendly. Fantastic food and breakfast cooked to order (allow time!). Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Happy to bring European visitor here. Great to relax in a deep big bath watching TV after a long drive. Minibar choices excellent with great snacks too. Location is waiting for the rest of the area to catchup! No shops bars or restaurants in immediate area. But in summer would be an easy walk to the quayside. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloodsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked a mezzanine suite, which was beautiful. Although, in the evening when going to shower there was a horrible smell. We called room services and the hotel representative came to our room and agreed there was an awful smell coming from the shower. He admitted that it usually came from that side of the hotel, and that he will make a report and show to management the following morning. We were not given the choice to change rooms.

The following morning when settling the bill, the management showed terrible customer service while why asked about our room situation. Usually, when you book an expensive room but the facilities are not satisfactory hotels offer financial relief to customers - as it is not our fault you hotel room stinks! After much arguing about customer service principle with the arrogant staff they offered £20. What do you think that sounds like for not being able to take a nice shower, in a premium room booked and paid to have luxurious baths and showers in?

We are have stayed at leading hotels around the world, luxury B&B's, and everything in between. And we just do not find the value or luxury within this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerPeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at the du vin for 1 on the 24th November. We came to Newcastle as our first full night away together following the birth of our first born.
During the day we were shopping in the nearby Metro centre which is an amazing shopping experience. After our shopping trip we checked in and from the second we checked in the staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We relaxed for a few hours in the room which can only be described as luxury. We then headed into Newcastle town centre which is only 5mins away in a taxi for a meal and drinks.
Overall our stay in the Hotek Du Vin was amazing and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewMcCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing