We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fab Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have just came back from a night at the Hotel Du Vin Newcastle...the rooms were excellent and very clean. The food was lovely...best food I have eaten in a while.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    218
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
71
523
16
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fantastic room (executive studio, I think) with view down the Tyne (don't know what standard or deluxe doubles are like). Nice location just above the quayside perhaps 15/20 minutes walk along the river from town centre - peaceful and attractive area with good access to local restaurants. Welcome note from the manager in our room when we arrived. Double walk-in shower, roll-top bath, nespresso coffee machine and kettle, proper iron and hairdryer. Dock for music. Extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated and furnished. Good bistro with great steaks. Sommelier recommended very good wine by the glass to go with the meal. Friendly staff. Room service breakfast was also good - pastries, juice, choice of hot drink, and choice of various combinations of fruit/yoghurt/muesli.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCtraveller2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a birthday weekend treat in February.

The reception are is typically Du Vin - sumptuous and welcoming.

The rooms were excellent.

The food was superb.

We also enjoyed a private wine tasting in the cellar at the back of the restaurant which was fabulous.

The location is on the edge of the town yet this also means it's more peaceful than some of the City Centre locations.

We look forward to our next stay at either this or one of the other Du Vins.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webmanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel while in town for the Newcastle vs Sunderland game. Although the hotel was a fair distance from the stadium it was perfect for sight seeing and the nightlife of Newcastle. The hotel is just a short 5 minute walk from the Quayside.
The hotel it self was clean and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The breakfast in the bistro was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASNJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently stayed three nights while touring the New Castle area. Hotel is located in a beautiful dock side area with fantastic views of the River Tyne and at night a spectacular view of the Millennium Bridge with its changing colors. Beds were comfortable. We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and both were excellent. The only complaint we have is that the lift did not work on the day we arrived and there appeared to be little effort to fix it as it was still not available when we left. However they were very helpful with bringing our bags to and from the lobby. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and would stay there again if in New Castle.

Room Tip: Lift did not work so if stairs are a problem request a lower floor room. We had a top floor room (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NASNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very comfortable standard room overlooking the courtyard. All of the facilities and services you would expect from a first class hotel.
Very pleasant dinner and good breakfast completed the experience.
Excellent staff in all areas of the hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is what i deem to be slightly out of the city centre and heading towards some light industrial areas. The building itself is a fantastic old space converted to the hotel. Parking in difficult with only 4-5 cars able to park on the road near the hotel entrance, everyone else pays £10 a night to valet park. On arrival i was given the nice surprise of an upgrade to a mezzanine room which is lovely. Big roll top bath, massive walk in shower, all in a space accessed by some stairs in your room. My bed was super comfortable, and the overall ambience gave me a great nights sleep. I ate in the bistro and had a very nice bavette from the butchers slection. He came round to your table and explained all the different cuts you could have and how he could cook it for you, some people might find it a bit gimmicky but i liked it. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing