We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contactors and Party Hotel”
Review of The Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went on a Stag Party with 12 Lads! Being the oldest "Father of the Bride! I didn't expect much for the money as it was booked by the best man as just somewhere to sleep (B+B). We arrived on the Friday and the welcome from the owners was very warm and willing to help us have a good time. The hotel owner asked for a £25 bond per person which I could fully understand. The room "B" I shared with was a small room at the very top of the stairs in a converted attic with low beams, a Velux type window, a small Wash room and Toilet. The bed was a bit firm but comfy and had clean bedding. No tea or coffee making (that was downstairs in the lounge), No hairdryers etc but did have a small wall mounted TV. There was a blockage to the sink which I forgot to mention to the owners that needed sorting. A separate shared shower was just down the corridor which was clean. Towels and soap was provided in your room. Breakfast was very good, and I enjoyed it on both days. So to finalise the Brighton is a value for the money hotel, it's basic, has very friendly staff who are will to help, it's clean, and serves a decent hot breakfast, perfect for Contractors, Hen & Stag Parties as it only minutes from the Centre of Newcastle (£4 to £6 by taxi) .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with it's own shower!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letstakeabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for The Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived here late in the evening to a warm welcome - just what you need after a long drive. We were given lots of good tips and they have a map of the local area with attractions on it which looked very handy if you were going to explore.
Very clean and comfortable bed. I stayed in the room without a bathroom which was fine. the room had a comfortable single bed, a wardrobe, bedside table with TV, a lamp a sink and a couple of towels. Plus a fold-away chair! All the things you need! Showers and toilets are very clean and water was nice and hot.
Staff are very attentive and the breakfast was tasty too - just what the doctor ordered!
Definately recommended for a bargain stay with friendly owners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very poor hotel the breakfast was 3 days the same and the money was allready taken from my creditcard and i told the man that we pay cash. Then the woman put my money back at the creditcard and then i payd cash after all. I hope the refund was succesfull i can not see if it is back on my creditcard yet. The shower was on the floor so we had to shower with one hand holding it . I hope the hotel will fix these things in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ajaxamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ideal for the two nights that me and my friends stayed here. Our room was just what we were looking for when we visited Newcastle. Staff were very friendly and hardworking. Not far away from the main places via a taxi which cost roughly a couple of quid each. Would definetly go again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked this for a weekend away and didn't want to spend too much. For what we paid it was perfect. Room was, yes a little dated, but clean and warm and all you need to put your head down for the night. The shower rooms and toilets were pleasantly surprising, if felt more staying at a friends house rather than hotel as it was cosy and had a homely feel to it. As well as this, we had a cracking good breakfast on the morning. you can help yourself to cereal and juice and then you get a lovely fry up!! This little place is great for a cheap break and people who complain need to realise you get what you pay for!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vetheirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Family party of 1 adult and two teenagers to see the sights in Newcastle. Good to be able to get three single bed room so cheaply. Basic clean room and shared bathroom with great hot shower. Coffee on tap in the lounge where there is a wealth of information on Newcastle. Friendly staff and OK breakfast. Great for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

6 of us attended the brighton for an 18th birthday weekend 2 night stay and we were very impressed with what we got.3 twin rooms with ensuit rooms were very clean and spacious plenty of room for us to get ready.overall a very friendly and comfortable place to stay only downside for us was having to get a taxi to the clubs(mainly so our feet didnt hurt in the heels) but within walking distance if u dont mind would definatley stay here again and michael the night guy was such a gentleman giving us top tips on how to enjoy our weekend in newcastle when we didnt really know much about it

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginaperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton

Address: 47-49 Brighton Grove, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $41 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brighton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing