We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel!”
Review of Bluebird Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebird Hotel
Reviewed March 19, 2012

i had the most pleasant stay at the blue bird hotel the staff were very welcoming and freindly!
the room was exellent absloutly spotless i couldent moan about 1 thing if i tried! the continental breakfast was my favourite part of the stay i love toast! and the twinkies were scrumtious they even gave me a juice box! also they had sky in the lounge it is set in a picturesk part of newcastle i recomend you stay for a drink at the chesterfeild arms!! all the best xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Without sounding like I was looking to be staying in Buckingham palace I know you get what you pay for but at £35pp per night I think that you should be getting some middle of the road standard.

On arrival the car park was full however a sign said additional parking at rear.... All good? Wrong!! A concrete ledge in the middle of an overgrown field of mess!

Entrance to the hotel was a slim corridor, a young woman behind the desk mumbled about payment which had been made in full, signed a form and showed us to what by any manner of means can not be classed as double rooms!!

The rooms were beyond basic! The curtains were so thin they were like having coloured Perspex on the window, the bed base was chipped and stuck out taking chunks out our legs, the kettle was ok tele was space age and cups had more chips than the local chippy!!!

The carpets were so dirty that it looked like a pattern, every time anyone used water or flushed there toilet there was an almighty noise shuddering through the rooms! Like a ship was coming into dock!

The toilet door did not close the tap spun around like chuckys head the mould up the tiles and window was disgusting!

The only decent thing was we were I my there overnight and left ASAP next morning having been out as long as possible since arrival.

We paid for bed and breakfast which we never received and in all fairness would not have taken the risk to eat anyway but a bit of a rip off.

Staff were anything but friendly and informative and in actual fact the whole place was so horrendous that the mice that never decided to leave we're wearing overalls for protection!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martisangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here with some friends for a 21st birthday. Was really worried about turning up to the hotel after reading the reviews but it really didn't deserve the abuse it was getting! Perfect for girls and boys weekends away. Wouldn't go with my boyfriend or family but great for going out and drinking with friends. Shower was gorgeous and warm, and was just a shared bathroom with the girls on our floor which we all knew so wasn't a problem (two rooms on floor). Wasn't like we were sharing the bathroom with complete strangers. Didn't have time to eat the Indian food but friends said it was nice and the breakfast was a perfect hangover cure! Staff were friendly enough and rooms were clean. Who really cares if the stairways are narrow or the staff are rude!? Youre probably the rude people thats why they werent nice to you. All in all a hotel with everything you need for a cheap price!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpetfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Room 03 was in the attic and small but suitable for the short term, we stayed. Window frame was rotting but we were able to open/shut it thankfully as room warm. When open there was hot and cold water tap gave so cleaning teeth was 'different'. Breakfast was very good quality, better than we were expecting as it continental.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleezass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Do not stay here! the woman on reception was very rude and impatient, and her english was rubbish. was shown to our room and had to climb very narrow stairs with our cases, got lost a couple of times as did other guests, referring to it as a maze. there were only 2 toilets and 1 shower to be shared with a whole floor, not even separated for men and women. our room was a triple room - 3 single beds, a sink that didn't work, 2 chest of drawers that were falling apart and a cupboard and a mirror. The place definitely needs a make over and friendly staff. we paid about £34 each but for what it is i think this was a rip off and will never stay in a place like this again, would rather pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else thats in the city centre as we were through for a night out. i didn't even try the food but heard it was awful so would suggest that you listen to the terrible reviews and go elsewhere, wish we had done that but now here i am writing my own bad review.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 93M1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

It was much better stay last week. This is my first stay at this hotel. Prices are very cheap. Staff is very freindly and helpful. Room was very nice and Cozy. I must say it was Vlaue for money. I will come back again.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are large and Sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodthinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

read the comments made about this place after id booked it and started to worry .but u get what u pay for it isnt fancy just basic but i enjoyed my stay there and had a great time the goerdies r realy freindly people and made us feel welcomed as where from glasgow .the hotel was clean and warm, radiaters where blasting 24/7 . great pub 5 min. walk from hotel the fox and hounds . id definetley stay here again and recomend it to any one i know.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are quieter even though there wasnt much noise just people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,523 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,959 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Hotel

Address: Benwell Lane | Benwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 6RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluebird Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is based in 17th-century summer retreat of a member of nobility. The hotel embodies a combination of old English tradition and modern amenities of life. We have a dedicated team that provide around-the-clock customer care to our valuable customers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing