We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise”
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $46
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This fabulous restaurant was opened in April 2008, and was completely re-designed creating a simply stunning experience with a light modern feel. Featuring a mezzanine floor with glass balustrade and open spiral staircase but retaining some of the old features of the building, previously the Jesmond telephone exchange and Scout shop. The restaurant includes a bar/lounge reception and a private dining/meeting room.The Cherry Tree aims to provide the best modern British food in the North East created by a passionate brigade of chefs. Service is friendly and welcoming creating a warm, relaxed atmosphere including provision for families with children. Live background music is played on Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon. Open from midday until late Tuesday to Saturday and from 12 to 8pm on Sunday.An ideal place to dine for bruch/lunch/dinner: romantic evenings, entertaining business clients, meetings, private dining, large group parties, child friendly, music lovers. For events and offers visit our website.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was my first visit to The Cherry Tree and really enjoyed it. The service was good and the food really tasty at a reasonable price. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic0laH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    109
    57
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous birthday meal ”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked here for my mum's birthday, and from the moment we arrived it was simply excellent.

The dishes on the menu were carefully explained by the manager, Monika who also offered us some wine recommendations.

The good itself was delicious, cooked to our liking and with decent-sized portions.

All in all another great meal at the Cherry Tree where we were looked after incredibly well by all the excellent staff.

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and service in Newcastle suburb”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was a chilly evening and friends I was meeting were not best pleased to have a way to walk because there's no obvious place to park a car anywhere near, and Osborne Road can be a bit besieged by student drinkers. However, the welcome was warm, and the atmosphere convivial. My two starters were excellent - I felt I couldn't manage a main course - but friends pronounced everything very good. I thought the wine slightly overpriced, and not much choice for Italian wines, but otherwise I thought everything was fine. The decor is slightly gloomy, or maybe that's just the low lighting, but a mezzanine floor gives a spacious feel to the dining area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent for a total night out”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We arrived spent half hour in the bar looking through the menu, nice ambience about the place, we had a table next to the live music which I thought may be a problem, but the music was very low key and we hardly noticed it at all.
The food was perfection I had the lobster-crab which was presented well and tasted even better. All in all excellent night out. Even though it was a busy sat night standards did,nt drop Keep it up !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tileman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, service and setting all fantastic”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great meal on a Wednesday night with my Dad, on a friends recommendation.

We had the braised Ox tongue, seabass and pan perdu with ginger ice-cream. We drank a great bottle of Chablis.

Staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive throughout. Food was excellent, particularly the pan perdu - not half bad for a set menu!

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing