We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent displays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great North Museum

The Great North Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

i regularly take my 3 year old daughter to this museum and she loves it! Will be back very soon and the bonus is that it is free!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    196
    66
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent if you're taking the family or looking around on your own. Take your time through all the exhibits (I loved watching the schoolkids watching the snakes!) and enjoy something to eat there also. I was there while a friend had a small date with the RVI and spent a lovely 2-3 hrs while waiting for her.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Free and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice museum specially for children.
The permanent exposition is free.
There is a nice variety of attractions like Egyptian mummies
and pieces of Romanian Empire.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldBelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

First Class museum. Loved the Planetarium. The kept loads of exhibits from the old museums including the Egyptian mummies. Our grandchildren loved the museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick tour around the Hancock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A beautiful location and building. My son and I enjoyed walking around this museum, but allow no more than 1.5 hours as there is only 2 floors. Lots of resources and items to view. Well worth a look. ;-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great North Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Great North Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing