We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les Misérables”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Puccini

Puccini
Ranked #378 of 1,251 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Les Misérables”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Where do I start.... don’t eat at this restaurant would seem appropriate.

The food comes in huge portions but tastes bland and watery. The potato skins are more like crisps and the dip they provide is so greasy it won’t take to the “crisp” without scooping it rather than dipping.

The majority of the waiters seem like they have been handpicked from other restaurants for being utterly terrible and placed in this restaurant to work alongside the miserable management. Each time we asked a passing waiter for more drinks they just continued walking without acknowledgement, after waiting about 10 – 15 minutes we had to assume the drinks were never going to arrive and ordered more.

If you love breadsticks... plain, dry, bland, repacked breadsticks then this restaurant might be for you. In place of nice, fresh bread and butter placed in baskets on the tables we were instead given pre-packed breadsticks with no dip or butter. Looking back this sums up the restaurant and how much they really don’t care.

I have to say the sour faced waitress/manager is worth the trip into the restaurant just to see how miserable she actually is. As a form of entertainment go eat somewhere nice such as Nino’s in the Gate (just up the road) fill yourself up with nice Italian food at the same price and then go order some food at this restaurant (which you will never have any intention of eating but pay for it anyway as its cheap) and just see how miserable this person is. Maybe order something from the menu and ask for it to be changed slightly because she really doesn’t like this even if the small menu change is related to allergies.

Stay away from this dump!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    61
    39
    26
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to Puccinis for meal on Friday night. Its one of our favourite restaurants.WHY? Varied menu plenty to choose from even for me who is a very fussy eater. The food as usual was very good my husband and I both thouroughly enjoyed our meal. The restaurant was very busy but staff were as usual attentive and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Prices reasonable and we try to eat there as often as possible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

1st time. Was just ok. Meal was prompt and staff attentive. Food hot and pleasant enough. Was just alright. Neither bad nor terrific. Would go back, but wouldn't rave about it. A good Italian? Try Marabini's in Morpeth - great food. Fantastic staff. Wonderful atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolGair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, cheap and cheerful Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been going to puccinis for over 15 years and am surprised at some of the reviews, ive always found the staff to be lively and if something isnt quite what you asked for, it would be changed. I often pop in with my kids and parents and they are always accomodating. The food is really reasonably priced and plentiful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittkat401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!!!!!! Awful nasty staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Customer service was shocking, awful rude staff, couldn't be bothered!! I've never been to a restaurant and been made to feel such a bother!! I really don't know why they don't just shut forever!!! It took us 30 minutes to get our starter of soup!! Then we were hurried to leave as they fancied an early night at 9:30pm what a joke, please avoid and spend your money where it is actually valued.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Seaton Delaval, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing