We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A healthy Mediterranean Restaurant nestled in Sandyford”
Review of Harissa

Harissa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Description: Serving fresh, tasty and colourful food from all corners of the Mediterranean. Our dishes are seasonal and our ingredients are from some incredible suppliers and producers. We bring you relaxed vibes, sharing dishes and cracking flavours, right in the heart of Sandyford. As a social enterprise, we invest our profits back into the community via our lovely sister organisation, Food Nation.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving fresh, tasty and colourful food from all corners of the Mediterranean. Our dishes are seasonal and our ingredients are from some incredible suppliers and producers. We bring you relaxed vibes, sharing dishes and cracking flavours, right in the heart of Sandyford. As a social enterprise, we invest our profits back into the community via our lovely sister organisation, Food Nation.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Me, my wife and a few friends were due a catch-up and Harissa had a menu that catered for all tastes. I have been meaning to visit the restaurant for a while and this was a perfect opportunity.

Me and my wife went for the Meat Mezze accompanied with the Crispy Okra and Slow Cooked Heritage Carrots. The Mezze was very well presented with the stand out elements being the lentil tabbouleh and humus, both were delicious and full of flavour. However, the kofta, falafel and spring rolls were a bit lacking in seasoning and spice compared to the other elements. This was also the same for the slow cooked carrots, not much flavour and just a texture, given how they were sourced, I thought their flavour should have been more pronounced. The Okra on the other was one of the best dishes I’ve had containing the vegetable, they had a bit of crunch and the seasoning was perfect. We finished with ‘Wor Lotty Plums’ which was a confusion of flavours comprising of a mint méringue and very acidic plums.

The service was polite, friendly and casual making it apt for the style of food. The interior is modern, cosy and an ideal space to drink and eat while chatting with friends and family. So worth considering if you don’t want a busy noisy restaurant but remember to reserve a table.

Harrisa is a great healthy restaurant but a bit pricey for what you get. For the price paid, there are better alternatives in the city. I would go back for drinks and light bites but if you are going to spend this sort of money, go to The Patricia.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

The quality of the food and the service here are first class. The care and attention to detail are apparent with every dish. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LondonvisitorCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Flavour filled dishes, top tunes and chilled vibes. Wonderful place to eat and drink. Defiantly returning!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Six of us visited for an evening meal. Everything that appeared at the table was wonderful, from the olives, dips and breads right through to dessert. Plus the lebanese wine was very good too! Full marks, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrWooHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

The portions seem to get smaller with each visit but the food is excellent. I have vegetarian friends so we tend to go for the veg platter followed by dessert.
I'm not a big eater but the portions are definitely veering on the small side otherwise I would say 5 stars! You might want a snack before you go.
Tend to go mid week and its still busy which is a good sign.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HAJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Harissa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi HAJ K,

Thank you for reviewing you recent visit to Harissa Kitchen and it is amazing to hear that the food was wonderful for you and your friends.

We do feel that our portion sizes offer good value for money, and you will notice in previous reviews that this is also the case. We use high quality ingredients to which the vast majority are organic, from some amazing local producers that we are lucky enough to have on our doorstep. We also have our own allotment where a lot of our menu items are grown and cared for by our passionate growing team. We are highly committed to providing our guests with quality, fresh, seasonal ingredients to give them the best possible experience. Our dishes are listed as small plates on the menu and we would usually recommend 3 or 4 per person, for which you would pay between £15-20 for. We always try our very best to get the balance right of quality and value for our customers and a lot of thought goes into providing this. It is worth noting that as we are a social enterprise, any profits that the restaurant makes are invested back into the local community. Hopefully we can achieve the full 5 on your next visit to Harissa!

Thanks again for your feedback. We welcome all constructive feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harissa also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Harissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing