We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb restaurant, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Forty Six

Bistro Forty Six
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $96
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A modern European bistro with an intimate atmosphere and friendly staff. We source local game, seafood and vegetables for our seasonal and changing menu. Tuesdays to Sundays all-time classics are served up alongside delicious daily specials. Lunchtime and early evening fixed price menus are complemented by a seasonal A la Carte. Sunday is dedicated to traditional roast dinners and Tuesday night is all about steak - Two dine for £27.95 with drinks.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night, - had superb evening! Glad we booked as word is obviously spreading about this place! Great ambience and our meal was delicious. I had one of the specials chicken breast stuffed with goat's cheese served with lemon thyme dressing, and it was out of this world. One of the nicest meals I have ever had. It's a small, intimate environment where we were made very welcome. I can thoroughly recommend it!
Also they had just had a cocktail masterclass before we came! Sounded great fun. Might try that another time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0sa1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    79
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was I'm afraid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have visited twice now, since it was taken over. While it was OK I'm afraid it just isn't as good as it was when it was Bruges, but that was a pretty hard act to follow in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeeky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food promptly served.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a fairly small intimate restaurant but service great food. We had some very good steaks here and would certainly return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Restaurant is small and intimate but with a delightful ambience. Cocktails are a must (we tried 3 different ones), food was excellent, of highest quality, perfectly cooked and just the right portions. Staff were superb, very engaging with nothing too much trouble. We will definitely be back!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little eatery, but limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Do your homework first with this little bistro. The al a carte menu is limited, there are half a dozen specials and thats it. But what they serve is very good quality and cooked as you like it. We had rib-eye steak which was done to a turn. My wife had a bownie for dessert, but this was burnt on the bottom, but didn't spoil her enjoyment of the meal overall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quba_libra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Forty Six also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro Forty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing