We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Great Place!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wow, after travelling around England for almost two weeks this place was a refreshing haven. Its so spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and modern, the bedroom was a fair size and there was a washer/dryer combo that was very useful (I could have used instructions I am sure if I had asked they would have been provided) and the bathroom was very large. We were able to have most of my family come over to the apartment and sit down for coffee and treats comfortably. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation as it also is a great location for seeing the sites in the area. We were also steps away from the Metro, wonderful restaurants and a grocery store. We really loved our stay and would absolutely come again. The prices were very good for England especially compared to the space that you got. Well done, very clean, very well organized and we felt so comfortable here. The housekeeping was nice to have, they must be there for only a short time, as we were still getting ready in the morning and they knocked we asked for them to come back, but they were not able to. This was not a problem at all, just something to note that if you are slow to get out in the mornings you might miss your cleaning, we didn't mind so it wasn't a problem for us at all.

Room Tip: We did not experience any real noise although its near a very busy main street it did not bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, if you had mentioned to reception about the housekeeping we would have got this sorted for you very sorry, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    120
    19
    3
    9
See reviews for
174
105
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here as I got married at As You Like It nearby and it was amazing! The rooms are superb, you have different rooms to choose from, all in 1 building. The decor in our appartment was stunning along with the modern furniture. Beds were really comfortable and the fridge was stocked with milk, croissants and there was tea, coffee freely available. Staff were very helpful from booking through to check out. Would love to stay here again... 11/10!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_o1iver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay on such a special occasion. If you have some photos you could send us we can put them on our face book page. Congratulations and all the best for the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Freindly welcome, rooms spotless and most of all comfy beds.
More comfortable than usual hotel as you have your own sitting area to relax and watch tv and can make yourself something to eat without having to rely on room service. Breakfast supply basic, but you can bring your own bacon and eggs. Cant fault this place on this visit would definately return if back in the area.
Ideal location as centre within walking distance or right next door to the Metro.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LtoLIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Gosh I am really sorry I don't know how this one slipped through the net. Thank you for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked two apartments, the staff on the phone where very friendly, and this was just the start.
Both apartments where well finished to a high standard throughout. Enough provisions for a continental breakfast, and refilled during the day. The Kensington House is right opposite the Jesmond Metro station, top stops and right into the city, so this makes it really convenient for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puntersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and showed to our apartment. It was advertised as being suitable for a family of 5, but in the event it consisted of 2 double beds with a substandard foldaway bed placed in one of the rooms. No additional towel was provided for the 5th member of the party and despite being prompted the reception were unable to provide one. The location of the apartment could not be faulted as it is very close to the Metro station and within easy walking distance of the centre of Newcastle. We stayed at this aparthotel on the Great North Run weekend when prices in Newcastle were inflated so it is difficult to objectively measure the value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us, we have two types of two bed roomed apartments, one has two double beds and one bathroom, the other has a double bed room with en suite shower and a twin bed room and bathroom. We use good quality folding beds when a guest requests an extra bed in a room.

We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Kind regards



Gillian Hall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich - Uk
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed after my wife completed the Great North Run. Good location for what we wanted and excellent accommodation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back - If I ever do the GNR.

My daughter and husband were also there, with another couple, and there accommodation was of the same high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we look forward to seeing you next year in your running vest.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautifully appointed aparthotel conveniently located in Newcastle upon tyne - close to Universities, Restaurants, shops and bars in Jesmond and the City centre. Decor lovely, well appointed 2 bedroom apartments with parking and living area. kitchenette. When we arrived after a very long trip, we were disappointed that our basement apartment second bedroom contained 2 fold up camp beds We promptly made a request to be relocated to a more suitable apartment for two married couples. We were given keys of a top floor apartment to view, and decided to relocate on basis of proper beds!!!!Hassle we could have done without, but appreciate that receptionist accomodated our request. That said, would definitely stay here again but why oh why would anyone pay this money to sleep on a camp bed!! Get proper beds, save the hassle for your guests.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us after our little hiccup.

You should not have been put into that apartment at all, we were waiting for a new bed to arrive and had put the folding beds in as a temporary measure for a family with small children the previous week. It was a complete over sight on receptions part and for that I apologise. (The new bed has now arrived)

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Property: Kensington House Aparthotel
Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing