We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is such a cliche to say: Home away from home! Newertheless, this warm and well run Aparthotel have instantly felt like home... Apartment was very spatious, nicely furnished, kichen with everything you could need, comfortable bed, good adjustable heating. Not a thing to complain! Such a nice place to return and relax after a busy day. Staff was genuinely nice, helpful and went out of their way to help with everything you might need.
It is convenient for transportation, since it is just across the street from Jesmond metro station. On my next visit to Newcastle, wherther business or touristic, I would deffinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us we work hard to make all our guests enjoy their stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future


Kind regards
Gillian Hal
General Managerl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    107
    18
    3
    9
See reviews for
153
83
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting friends and family locally, and really don't think we could have found a better place to stay.

The location is perfect, across the road from Jesmond Metro and an easy walk to shops in Jesmond or into the city centre. Apartments were spotless, decor a bit dark for my taste but very modern and smart, and Sky TV a bonus. The kitchen had everything we needed, and essentials were provided including croissants in the freezer! The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've slept in, I should have asked where they got their duvet and pillows from!

Would highly recommend it, and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unicorn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. The bedding was bought from a Company called Mitre.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at these apartments and would highly recommend them. Staff were friendly and helpful, easy check in and we were upgraded on arrival to an apartment with two bathrooms which was very useful for a party of four ladies!
The apartment itself was lovely, very spacious, clean and modern.
There was a small 'kit' on arrival of milk/butter in the fridge, and a container with tea/coffee & hot chocolate, which would be very handy for someone needing a cuppa.
The apartment had lots of utensils to use if anyone wanted to prepare a meal/snack.
I have normaly stayed in Newcastle itself when visiting but seen these apartments and thought we'd give them a try. I'm so pleased we did. They were very reasonably priced, (although we did book approx 4 months prior so this may have made a difference). In fact we were just going to stay the one night as we were visiting Newcastle for a concert, but we decided to stay an extra night as we thought it was such a reasonable rate. We were suitably impressed. The rooms were clean, bright and there was even Sky TV.
We asked for a taxi to be booked on a couple of occasions and a taxi arrived in no time at all. The taxi prices were very reasonable, and it was a quick ride into the city, so any doubts about staying outside the city itself were soon dispelled.
I would definately stay in these appartments again, and there really is no greater recommendation than that.

Room Tip: There are quite a lot of stairs to the higher rooms, and no lift. So if mobility is a problem, or ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaneyCumbria_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovley review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The apartment was really nice spacious and clean. Great location, the receptionist was really nice and helpful. Also sky sports in the living room to watch the football!
Everything worked well, loads of space. Great place to stay! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwouldloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely reveiw I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter, sister and her mother in law for a weekend of xmas shopping in Newcastle. It was brilliant from start to finish! Helen, the receptionist checked us in on arrival and was extremely helpful and friendly, even changing our apartment to one on a lower floor..(without being asked!!).. when she noticed one of us would struggle with lots of stairs!! We really appreciated this. The apartment itself was gorgeous, very clean and modern, with comfortable beds and everything you could possibly need. Taxi booked for us on departure so a 'no hassle' journey to the station.
The apartments are in a perfect location, being only 5 minutes walk to the local Metro station, from where it was only 1 stop to the city..brilliant when carrying lots of shopping :)
Would highly recommend the apartments and Newcastle itself. It's a beautiful city with great shopping and some wonderful bars and restaurants. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had room 56 on the first floor, was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carruss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a few friends for a night away. Had a great time, apartments very luxurious, clean and gorgeous decor. Fast check in.
Only downfall - lots of stairs. My friend doesn't keep too well and struggled. Sure we could ask for lower rooms next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geocorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thak you for writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future, when booking please request a lower floor and we will make sure you get one.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I always like to stay in apartments when I'm away from home because I like to have more space, and this place didn't disappoint. We stayed here for one night after staying with family before heading home. Check-in was easy, and they were kind enough to give us a later check-out because we weren't leaving for London till mid-afternoon, so this was a bonus. We had a two bedroom apartment on the first floor for the four of us, and we were very impressed by the size of the apartment and the decor.
There were only a few negative things - one of the arms on the sofa was broken so that couldn't be used as an arm rest and a bit of the skirting board was loose by the kitchen. We didn't use the wi-fi, but it would have been better if this was free. We watched Sky as we enjoyed our evening in, but as a side point it would have been good to watch a box office film on Sky and pay the cost on check-out. But everything else outweighed that. Reception was happy to book us a taxi to a restaurant for dinner, but when we decided on a takeaway they cancelled the taxi and gave us menus for local places to look through. There was tea/coffee/hot chocolate, with bottled water, orange juice and milk in the fridge to use. In the freezer there were pastries, and with jams on the side we had enough for breakfast; these are lovely touches to have and sufficient if you don't get a chance to grab something else for breakfast.
We didn't drive, but there seemed be to good parking. The Metro station was just round the corner which was very convenient when we were lugging suitcases. There was a Nisa not too far either which was good for some movie snacks. All in all a great stay, the family were impressed and we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of repairing and recovering our settes hopefully they should all be done within a few weeks. Apart from sky all TV's also have freeview, we also have a DVD player which is available free of charge to guests if they wish to watch films. We look forward tos eeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Property: Kensington House Aparthotel
Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing