We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here in 2010 with my girlfriend. Our apartment was so slick and stylish almost didn't want to leave! Living room and kitchen area very fashionable yet classy. Big bathroom with massive his n hers marble sink area and walk-in shower. Bedroom wasn't huge but had plenty of room and a large bed.

Location great as it's near Osborn Road and easy to get to centre of Newcastle too

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Kensington House, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards Gillian Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 555 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay in a 2 bedroomed family apartment and it exceeded all our expectations. From arrival to departure we were delighted. The beds were very very comfortable, the duvets were luxurious. The bathroom had both a shower cubicle and a bath and white fluffy towels. The sitting room was lovely, the kitchenette was equipped to the highest standard and we lacked absolutely nothing. There was milk in the fridge, an ample supply of hot drinks and even breakfast cereal and pastries...we couldn't have asked for anything more! The children (2 and 5) loved the space. Our only regret was having to check out...but we will return...and soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we do try to think of ways to make our guest's stay a happy and enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed for four nights; the location was great for us ( a family with two young teens) as it's only 100m from the Jesmond Metro and at the bottom of the popular Osborne road; bars etc were some walk away which meant it was very quiet but we we were well located to walk or use the Metro to get to wherever we wanted.

The apartment was clean and the daily servicing was good but 10am on a Saturday morning is too early ! Other guests have commented on the emphasis of the staff on advising on breakages etc but we didn't experience any of that. However, the apartments welcome booklet had a long list of items meant to be in the flat which it said they checked and charged you for if found missing; we found more than six items missing when we checked in ( pans, caffetiere etc) and they were mostly replaced the same day. Bizzarely there was only one dining chair for the table for the four of us. We ate out so it wasn't a problem and if we'd raised it I'm sure it would have been sorted quickly but the pre-arrival checking is obviously a bit lacking for someone not to notice their absence.Sofas and beds looked good but were not as comfortable as they should be and this would be my only major criticism.

Reception staff were very helpful. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Decor is dark and the basement apartment we were in was a bit gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am very sorry there was only one chair at the table, this should have noticed by housekeeping, I hope it did not upset your stay. We strive to maintain standards but sometimes we do drop the ball. We hope you will vsist us again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in November to celebrate our son's 21st birthday, who lives in Jesmond. It was fantastic to have the extra space of an apartment. The staff were very helpful and the standard very high. Next morning I didn't have to do anything....just load the dishwasher and go!! Good parking and good location too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at Kensington House over Xmas and New Year for approx 1 month. The standard of accommodation was very high and the staff were very helpful. Great location, walking distance from the city centre and plenty of parking. Highly recommended for longer than average stays.
Mr & Mrs Stephens

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LixTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us, although I know you are extremely busy sorting out your house. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Apartments were lovely and clean. Plenty of parking and close to local Metro station, Jesmond etc. Only disappointment was staff's attitude who showed us round upon arrival...kept drilling home that damages must be paid for etc....like we were about to trash the place!!?! The complimentary shampoos etc were poor, make sure you take your own! Also, upon arrival we were reminded that the apartments were self catering and that a few things (milk,tea etc) were left to help us settle in. We did not realise then that we would be shot down on the second day when we asked the cleaners for a couple of extra tea bags...the response we got made me wonder if I had infact asked for one of her kidneys! 4 tea bags for an apartment that sleeps 4, regardless of length of stay. Sounds petty, but for the cost of a couple of tea bags, they have lost this customer's confidence and with many many more aparthotels available, I think I will give one of those a try next time! Beautiful decor and fittings, but means nothing with such a lukewarm reception

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all comments however negative help to improve our customer service. If you could contact me directly with the dates you stayed with us, in November, we cannot find any details for you, we can investigate your complaints more thoroughly.
Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in Newcastle for just one night between Christmas and New Year and found the apartments really good value for money and much better than hotels in the same area. We also had the added bonus of more flexibility, given the well equipped kichen, two bedrooms and shared bathroom. We also enjoyed free parking and a location close to a Metro station that got us into Newcastle in just a few minutes. There are also some very classy restaurants close by and Jesmond Dene, which is great for walking and children. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean and well laid out and the staff were really helpful throughout our stay. Having stayed in lots of hotels in Newcastle I much prefer these apartments and the negative comments from other reviewers about women not being able to get in after 10.30pm (unless previously booked in), quite frankly, is another big plus for me. The only negative to report is a noisy fan in the early hours, which the night staff could not explain, but soon switched off. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Apartments away from Osborne Road and as high up as possible, to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
1 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing