We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the third or forth time we have stayed here and again, it was a lovely stay.

We had been to a funeral on the day and when we checked in, the allowed us to check in an hour earlier, which was just what we needed after the day we had had! The friendly and smiley receptionist also told us that our room had been "upgraded".

The room was nice, although no more special than any of the others we have previously stayed in, so I wonder what the original room would have been like..?

When I went in the bathroom, I noticed that the water in the sink from my partner washing his hands did not drain away quickly, however I ignored this and took a much needed shower. When I noticed that this water was not draining away either, my partner nipped across the corridor to reception, where they were more than happy to move us to another apartment without hesitation.

Please note the photos I have added are from the first apartment we were in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outonthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for booking with us again and taking the time to write us a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    113
    19
    3
    9
See reviews for
161
89
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a girlie weekend her the staff were lovely and the hotel was fantastic one of the best beds I have slept in. The location is fantastic for nights out in Newcastle or Jesmond. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and writing us a review, all feed back helps us to improve our facilities at Kensington House. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Booked through late rooms, as had to change holiday plans at the last minute.
Really enjoyed this top floor flat for 4. Bit of a trek to the top, but quality of accom made up for it. Really nicely decorated, great standard all round. Very friendly welcome by night person.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philsurfboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the photos are really good. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Gillian Hall General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

A really convenient location, easy walk into city centre or Jesmond. Apartment clean, plenty of space and reasonably quiet. Just a few little niggles that stopped me from giving a rating of 5. The mirrors were very poorly lit, making it difficult to put make up on. The internet signal in my apartment was so weak the connection kept dropping. There were no summer weight duvets available - the duvet supplied was too hot and a sheet was not warm enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Kensington House Aparthotel all comments are helpful, We did have a problem with the internet whilst you were staying with us and hopefully this has been rectified, we will be purchasing some summer quilts for warmer nights, and we will look into the lighting in the bathrooms to see if this can be improved, we look forward to seeing you agin in the future. Kind regards Gillian Hall General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I am so lucky.My job allows me to stay at these wonderful apartments. I have stayed here on several occasions. The apartments are located near to the city centre (approx 10-15min walk or 1 stop on the nearby metro)There is also free on site parking. There is a warm, efficient welcoming receptionist when you arrive.
The apartments themselves are wonderful. All differently decorated in modern style and with all mod cons.The bathrooms are immaculate and the beds are comfy.Kitchen area has all things that you need and also there are supplies of teabags and coffee sachets.
the housekeeping service is excellent and good supplies of clean towels and fresh linen.Also an iron and ironing board are available.the bedroom has strorage area for your clothes and hairdryer is supplied as well.If you are having to work on your stay you can do that as the living area is spacious.
These would be suitable for families and weekend breaks.I would not hesitate to recommend these apartments.this is one of my favourite places to stay. i always relax here and feel safe.
The staff are helpful. Any problems just ask and they will deal with things for you.The only downside i can think off....there is no lift. so if you struggle with lifting your bags etc. i would book a ground floor or basement flat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmydpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Kensington House Aparthotel, we appreciate your feed back. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Gillian Hall General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautifully appointed & superbly located this apartment is amongst the best properties or hotels we have stayed in.
Well equipped, everything worked and the local suburb of Jesmond is quiet,but not bland with a real neighbourhood vibe. That said the fantastic city centre and quayside is a mere 15 minute walk away.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyrussell118a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Have stayed in many aparthotels in both the UK and abroad and this is by far the best yet! From the helpful staff guiding me in when I got lost to the fixtures and furnishings everything was just how I would want it.

Room Tip: Perfect for the famous Osborne Road night out!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Kensington House Aparthotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future. Gillian Hall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Property: Kensington House Aparthotel
Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing