We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Superb service from all involved”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My daughter and her partner got married at the Georgian House Hotel on Saturday 14th November 2009. Extended family and friends almost took over the whole hotel for the weekend from Friday to Sunday. We cannot say enough about the hotel and it's staff. We were given superb service from every member of the staff from Sarah the wedding manager right down to the young man who cleaned our room. The bed was amazing, very comfortable and the shower was the talking point at breakfast - I want one! The room was very cosy, clean and comfortable. All the food we had over the weekend was beautifully cooked and presented. All in all our weekend was wonderful. I shall be writing in person to Sarah to thank her for all her hard work involving the wedding. We would definitely consider booking in again. Highly recommended.
Ann and Martin Fry

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly1Poppy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 531 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

I so needed to have a break from home - just my partner and me. Sent the children to the grandparents and checked into the Georgian House Hotel for the weekend. The room was cosy and warm, food tasty and well presented, the really friendly and efficient and very knowledgeable about their town. We spent Sunday morning using the Aqua Roma gym. The gym equipment is of high standard and the jet spa and swimming pool are of exceptionally high standard. The weekend ended with us having a well cooked Sunday Roast in their Squires Retaurant... which was a bit difficult for me as I had already overeaten at breakfast. Even though there was a wedding taking place in one of the function rooms our weekend experience was not disturbed at all. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Bumped by Branksome Place into the Georgian Hotel (3 stars) which was not our choice. See other review where the Branksome has booked guests into this hotel. On entry the room smelled musty. After several weeks of hotels across Europe this was the dirtiest smelliest shower curtain of all! See low resolution pics. Black mould and smell too. Also black mould to room window. Bathroom extractor fan not working. The small bin under the sink was also broken. The room was not really habitable and for £59 the hotel can buy more that 10 shower curtains. No complaint or feedback form was provided on request. The room also needed a spring clean for dust and the shower head fitted correctly so it is correctly adjustable. The lack of a management room check (or an ineffective one) combined with these serious faults give our rating. We also decided to eat out and skip breakfast. It is a shame because the compact health center is very good and over the room features pretty good for the 3 stars on the hotel’s website. Parking was excellent for us. Putting aside the room probs Check in and Check out was fast and friendly. Along with many other hotels the construction of the rooms and the way the doors operative make for some noise when inconsiderate guests run around. The Pizza Express restaurant nearby is excellent and the Costa Coffee across the road very good too. We paid £10 (DeVere Offer, bumped) and DeVere paid £59 making £69 in total. Overall given the £10 cost to us we cannot complain too much however at full price a room change would be required straight away because when a room is like this it is 0 stars however the price paid should not be a factor for hotel standards. The Branksome should read TripAdvisor and when they say that they have booked us into a "four star" hotel they might be a little bit more careful. Ratings: cleanliness of room, not communal areas that were clean. Service rating falls because the issues of the room could have been followed up by phone the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I visited the hotel with my friend for a spa break early in July this year for her birthday. The location was absolutely perfect as my friends husband was in hospital in Haslemere and it was important that we were nearby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a similar break to anyone. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was excellent value for money. Although the gym and spa facilities are fairly small it was quite quiet while we were there and the spa staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

The location of this hotel is great although Haslemere is a quaint oldie worldy town so don't expect nightclubs and entertainment. There are plenty of local restaurants and pubs in walking distance. The train station is about a 7 minute walk and the train links to Waterloo (50 mins) and Portsmouth (40 mins)are great.

The hotel is a pretty Georgian building but also has a rather modern and trendy leisure facility. Swimming pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi.

The bar and restaurant staff made me feel very welcome and comfortable. I came away feeling I had made new friends.

Very nice visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyloveskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I have been staying here since 2002, an average of 25 nights per year, and love it. The staff are friendly and efficient, and i feel really at home, something usually missing in the large 'corporate' hotels i hate.
My profile, kept between visits, means i usually get the same room each visit, which i like.
The hotel sprawls along the high street, there being some really old bits, along with a relatively new block which also contains a comprehensive fitness centre, used extensively by the locals.
I tend to go out for a meal and drinks in the evening, the centre of Haslemere being charming, and having several good eateries and pubs. This is not a criticism of the hotel facilities, i just prefer to go out. I also feel the area is completely safe for the lone female to frequent.
Overall i give this establishment a high rating, based upon its homely atmosphere, and good location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We were a little nervous after reading negative reviews, and Reception having almost all of our details wrong! However, after this inauspicious start we enjoyed an inexpensive 2 night stay with a spotless and huge room, nice breakfasts and a cheery bar. The staff were excellent. A real old-fashioned hotel in a delightful old-fashioned town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_AHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,102 reviews
5.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.4 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: High Street, Haslemere GU27 2JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming market town of Haslemere and perfectly placed on the pretty High Street, The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is conveniently situated deep in the Surrey Hills, just off the A3 south of Guildford and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. With its delightful a la carte restaurant - The King's Pantry - well-equipped modern and period en-suite bedrooms, large private garden, car park and well appointed Gym & Spa. The Georgian is an excellent venue for conferences, weddings, functions and Spa breaks. A few minute's walk from Haslemere Educational Museum and the town's Victorian theatre and cinema, this elegant and historic hotel is in close proximity to the famous Devil's Punch Bowl and Tennyson's Blackdown, near to Cowdray Park and Glorious Goodwood and is in easy reach of the South Coast. The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa - the perfect place to unwind, indulge and rejuvenate..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Haslemere
The Georgian Hotel Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing