We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a relaxing spa trip”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a relaxing spa trip”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently stayed here for a long weekend spa break. I can only say the entire trip was a big disappointment!!
On checking in we were given the kays to a very nasty smelling room with mildew and mould on the curtains and window ledges. We were informed that the hotel was fully booked so the receptionist was unsure what to do but on checking with the manager we were then moved to a better smelling room. We had booked breakfast to be delivered to the room on sunday morning at a set time but after waiting half an hour for breakfast the following morning we had to go to reception again only to be told that our order had not been received. They then found our order and gave us our breakfast which we then had to carry to our room - a very heavy tray! we left our dirty tray outside the room but at teatime this had still not been removed so we again carried the tray ourselves to reception.
The Spa was the worst experience of a spa i have ever had - The massage which we had booked as a couple incurred a lenghty wait time, and whilst waiting for my husband i could hear staff complaining about being treated badly by guests at a party the previous night and being told that they had to grin and bear it by their manager and there were lots of names being mentionerd by the staff which was very unprofesisonal!! Then we went to use the pool which was very cold and the decor is chipped and fading around the pool. The jacuuzi was being emptied by staff so we were unable to use. So not a very good experience.
At the evening meal I ordered the apple crumble and custard on taking the first mouthful I noticed it was full of nuts in the crumble topping which I do not like - I mentioned this to the waitress who said there are almonds in the topping but there are no mentions of any nuts in the crumble in the menu which could be very dangerous to any guests with nut allergies but she just said as long as you are not allergic and walked off!
This trip was booked for an anniversary treat for my husband and I - The first time we had been away for a weekend without the kids for six years and i can only say it was a catalogue of nightmares and we were very unhappy!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    156
    99
    66
    41
See reviews for
95
185
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First off, I have read some other reviews and feel that perhaps their expectations were higher.
I will agree that the massage treatments were poor as I do not think the people are trained for deep massage. When they were "chopping" my back it felt like butterfly wings ! If hotel staff are reading this please take note. Treatment room was nice.
Spa had swimming pool,jacuzzi,solarium, showers, sauna and steam room. We were happy withthis.
This is only a 3 star tourist board grading.
Rooms were good, some had been re-decorated and some were disabled friendly. Make sure the heater is turned on.This hotel is a mix of old and new.. You can also get married here! Room hire from £25. They also do catering for parties etc. When we were there there was a wedding/hen party going on.hotel is on the right {cream] almost as soon as you enter the high street. Arched entry is through middle of hotel.Plenty of free parking.
We had a special package so not sure of hotel rates. Our package included free tea and coffees at the bar. A nice touch. So nice in fact that we did not use the tea/coffee facilities in the room! Trouser press and ironing board and hair dryer provided. Almost forgot, Free entry to the spa facilities; Pool, sauna etc.
Food was very good and well presented. Dining room was pleasant. Staff were friendly and pleasant. £15.90 OR £17.90 for three courses if not on a package. Good value.
Just a note. This area is expensive and the pubs in the area reflect this.
To sum up we were pleased with the hotel and food and use of the spa. We would NOT recommend the treatments.

Room Tip: There is a lift to both floors. 40 ensuite rooms. Room 27 has didabled toilet and bath/shower. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Two of us stayed here on the 2 night spa break. This included breakfast on the two mornings, dinner on the two evenings and a complimentary treatment each which was very good value for money.

Check in was prompt and we were initially given a double room on the ground floor near the Aqua Roma spa. The room was clean with a large bathroom although there was no introduction pack. Unfortunately the builders were working in the rooms either side of ours and the noise was easily heard. However, as soon as we requested to change rooms this was done with immediate effect and the reception staff were understanding of the situation. We were moved to the top floor and given a room with two double beds and an introduction pack detailing meal times etc.

Location in Haslemere is excellent. The hotel is situated right on the high street with local shops and amenities on the doorstep, yet it is still quiet and peaceful.

Dinner on the first night was good although service was very slow and it was not explained to us what was included in the price we had paid. However on the second night, the waitress Melanie was extremely efficient, helpful and polite, explaining to us without us asking what was included in our package and that we could even have dessert in our room should we wish.

Staff here are generally efficient and some stand out over others as they were friendly and helpful.

The Aqua-Roma spa and gym are well equipped facilities offering a pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna and exercise options. The treatment rooms are located upstairs amongst the bedrooms and are very relaxing. The hotel is well laid out with a link corridor leading to the spa facilities. The treatments are excellent value for money although we were not given a breakdown of the products used afterwards.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel and the packages available to those looking for an excellent value for money spa break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignoranttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I use this hotel regularly as we have family in the area. In November I booked for Boxing Day night and the night after. However, when I arrived, I was told that the booking was for January - obviously they had made a mistake - but I was made to feel that it was my mistake and my fault - Like Boxing Day is always the 26th January I suppose!!!!!
Will seriously have to reconsider where we stay now as this hotel does not seem to value its' repeat customers.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonjen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Went to the Georgian Hotel for xmas lunch yesterday. This was the first time having xmas lunch anywhere other than at the home of a family member so it could have been an odd experience.

The food was not too bad, the service very good with friendly staff who were very helpful. The hotel were catering for around 100 people, who had selected their choices beforehand, but still they managed to serve hot food.

One noticed that cold starters were served to a table first and the hot starters came afterwards so those waiting to start were not watching their hot dishes go cold. An obvious thing to do, one might think, but so many places don't do this.

One small criticism would be that the staff disappeared at the end of the meal, but before everyone was finished so their could have been requirements that would not have been met - such as the mint tea that never arrived at our table.

On the whole, I would not say 'don't go there' but do expect a typical, yet reasonable, outer London experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Had stayed at the Georgian House Hotel a couple of times before and enjoyed it, so some colleagues and I thought it would be a good location for our staff Christmas party. Booking was easy and followed up with very friendly and helpful communication and, although the number of people attending had dropped, we still had a brilliant time. The service was good, the staff were helpful and the food was great. We all danced all night, and then didn't have to worry about getting home, just up the stairs to bed! Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Everyone had a great time and we're thinking of doing it again next year! In the meantime, I will certainly be back for an excellent value spa weekend!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Staff friendly but service was very slow, starters ok but nothing great, three out of four main courses were cold and had to be returned. Expensive and not worth £70 have no idea what it's like staying in the hotel but having eaten there it would not make me want to try, was very disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Orinoco5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haslemere hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
324 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.4 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: High Street, Haslemere GU27 2JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming market town of Haslemere and perfectly placed on the pretty High Street, The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is conveniently situated deep in the Surrey Hills, just off the A3 south of Guildford and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. With its delightful a la carte restaurant - The King's Pantry - well-equipped modern and period en-suite bedrooms, large private garden, car park and well appointed Gym & Spa. The Georgian is an excellent venue for conferences, weddings, functions and Spa breaks. A few minute's walk from Haslemere Educational Museum and the town's Victorian theatre and cinema, this elegant and historic hotel is in close proximity to the famous Devil's Punch Bowl and Tennyson's Blackdown, near to Cowdray Park and Glorious Goodwood and is in easy reach of the South Coast. The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa - the perfect place to unwind, indulge and rejuvenate..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Haslemere
The Georgian Hotel Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing