We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in the Surrey Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a last minute decision (same day), given we have two young kids, we decided to break our trip down to Goodwood Festival of Speed with a stopover. A quick tripadvisor / Kayak scan and we found the Lythe Hill. Spoke directly and reserved a family room for £129.

On arrival (late 9:20pm), check in was easy, efficient and polite and we made our way to the room. Unbundled kids from car, assembled travel cot and placed eldest in sofa bed already made up by hotel.

The room was large suite, had separate lounge area, separate good size bathroom and large double master bedroom. So good value and gave us the space to not wake kids by putting on TV or when room service arrived. Furniture and decor was a little tired, but all round clean and comfortable.

Didn't try restaurant for evening meal (late + kids + felt overpriced); but room service menu was reasonable and food was good. Breakfast was good, with a lovely view.

Would stay at again and try spa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noakesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Noakesi

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased you chose to stay with us on the spur of the moment and that you had a great time.

Do come again

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having stayed once before and had a wonderful time, I had no idea my 2nd visit would exceed my 1st.
This time I stayed for 3 nights for a friends wedding and booked into the Blackdown Suite (beautiful room)!!! It is right on the terrace with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Bathroom was a great size with bathtub and big walk in shower. Once again the staff were amazing and nothing is too much trouble. They look after you remarkably well. Food of course was superb and don't forget to have the lovely breakfast.

I'm booked in again next week and looking forward to my 3rd visit already.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank djwill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear djwill74

Thank you for another lovely review.
We were thrilled to have welcomed you and your lovely wife back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What can I say? location was perfect, overlooking the Surrey Hills and surrounded by woodland. The bar and terrace was overlooking the lake which was perfect for chilling with the rabbits and ducks. Swimming pool in a separate block with the spa and gym comes with its own terrace, prefect for sun bathing.
All staff members were smart, professional and with a smiley, friendly attitude.
The wedding was in the gazebo by the lake, followed by champagne in the shade under the willow tree. The wedding breakfast in the garden room was delicious, so perfectly cooked.
Breakfast was very tasty, possibly the best sausages I have had in a hotel!!!!!
The room we had, in the main building, was a suite with twin beds in the main room and a sofa bed in the lounge room with the bathroom in between. although it was a hot weekend the room is shaded so never got uncomfortably hot.
We will definitely be back at some point - we only wish we could have stayed for a 3rd night - the idea of afternoon tea on the terrace sunday afternoon was like heaven!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyler-hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Tyler-hull

Many thanks for your review.
The team and I are thrilled you had a great stay and do hope you come and try that afternoon tea in the near future !

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay and everything was fantastic. Loved the setting, the room, the spa, the food and most of all the friendly, helpful staff. It was amazing value and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear CathyT

Thanks so much for your review.
The team and I are thrilled you had a fantastic stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner took me for a birthday treat. Lovely surroundings, quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing to sit on the terrace watching the rabbits frolic in the evening.Spa is lovely, clean and well looked after. I had two treatments which were wonderful. The swimming pool area was not busy so we had a lounger...there are only ten . I liked that there were no children.There is a discount for Hotel guests on treatments. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Breakfast in contrast was not; it wasn't bad just very ordinary with one of those old fashion toasters where you have to make your own toast. I like my toast to be made for me!Supermarket sliced bread, run of the mill cereals They miss a trick by not having locally sourced produce and some of the variety of home made breads served at dinner. Staff were at all times friendly and helpful. We had a classic room which was a bit jaded ( ripped chair , dull furnishings) so i would think of upgrading. 10% service charge is added with out consultation. The Spa and restaurant are located in a separate buildings 5 to 10 minutes from the bedrooms..which is not noticeable on a warm day but i am not sure i would like to traipse in my robe when it is raining. We will visit again as i think the positives out weigh the negatives and i came away feeling i had a good break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShariWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Shariwestsussex

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased you had a fantastic time with us.
With regards breakfast we are focusing very hard on driving local and home grown produce in all areas. We now have our own herb gardens and are in the process or cultivating nearly an acre of land for vegetables and salad ingredients. All the meats at breakfast are sourced very locally. We have found in the past that by adding a cereal on that is un-known it simply never gets used.
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have just returned from the Lythe Hill Hotel, where I spent the most relaxing time, spent in the glorious surroundings of this first class establishment. I really cannot fault anything during my stay. from the check in experience to the rooms and dining, this hotel really delivers where it matters. I had dinner in the restaurant which has two styles of decor, so should you wish to step back in time and dine in a 14th century wood paneled room which just reeks of history or walk through a doorway to step into the here and now with a beautiful contemporary room which would not be out of place in Harpers magazine. So the setting is complete can they deliver when it comes to the cuisine. the answer is a resounding YES. I dine on ham hock terrine with local black pudding and Quails egg with sour cream and piccalilli ( divine), followed by a melody of pork as my main and finished of with deconstructed strawberry cheesecake (both sublime).
I awoke the next morning convinced I had overslept as I could here nothing in my room, despite the windows being open, imagine my surprise when it was 7.30am, I had slept so soundly in the bed that had cradled me during my slumber, that it appeared to have refreshed my bones in a shorter than usual time . so I arose and enjoyed a cup of tea catching up on the news before heading over for breakfast. Again I was not disappointed with the available items and definitely gives our Scottish breakfast a run for its money.
In short if you are looking for an independent hotel with unique charm and a warm welcome then you cannot go wrong with giving this charming hotel a visit.
I did not have time to partake of the numerous spa facilities available but will definitely make sure I make time on my next visit to have a couple of treatments and relax by the pool afterwards.

A big well done who who ever is making this place a pleasure to visit, I foresee a great future for this property, But don`t tell everyone we don`t want this secret to get out!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AubreyDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear AubreyDickson

Thank you so very much for your fantastic and detailed review.
The team and I are so pleased you had a great time with us and do hope you will come and see us again in the not too distant future.

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a really lovely stay on a midweek spa break. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the evening meal absolutely delicious, served in a 14th century building, with friendly staff. The grounds were beautiful, with rabbits outside our window at sunset. The only complaint was that the room was rather hot, but that's it - would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear ahg37

Thank you so much for your review.
We are delighted you had a great stay with us

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
518 reviews
6.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
17.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: $107 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing