We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. My First impression of the hotel was excellent, unfortunately after 2 nights they fell a little short of this. We stayed in the Kirdford room which looked amazing, but the room was dark and noisy due to the boiler outside. The bathroom was not very clean, with body fat on the tiles and behind the taps. The toilets were extremely noisy and the room above woke me in the night when being flushed. We found the bed to be uncomfortable. Not quite the standard I would have expected after the first impression. All the other facilities are faultless and the staff were friendly and eager to help. I would return to the hotel but the garden rooms look much nicer so would book on of these.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikegrace2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear MikeGrace2910

Thank you for your feedback.
I appreciate us being allowed the opportunity to answer your comments.
First I should address your comments about the dirty bathroom which are I am sorry to say a little far fetched. The "body-fat" is indeed tarnishing due to the age of the bathroom and there is a certain amount of the waterproof silica gel peeling off behind the taps. This is being immediately rectified.
The room is a fantastic room for those wanting to relax and get a decent nights sleep. However, If the new mattress is too soft for guests which is why I assume you didn't sleep well then we are happy to move guests to rooms with firmer mattresses.
We are thrilled you had an overall great stay and found our team to be so welcoming.

Do contact me directly should you chose to return so that I may take care of you personally.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    269
    135
    78
    49
See reviews for
129
530
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The ideal hotel and spa for some weekend relaxation! The staff were fantastic and really made our stay perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for Roman and the other staff; they were so accommodating for our party of 8. The evening menu in the main restaurant is fantastic and it's a really great experience to be able to eat in the Tudor dining room! The only downside was that the internet connection was poor and this impacted part of our group who were using the conference facilities for work during our stay. However, I still highly recommend Lythe Hill.

Room Tip: For a really great experience, try to book one of the rooms in the 14th century house rather than th...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jo-Jeremy

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Your feedback is vital for future travellers and we are thrilled you had a great time with us and hope we may see you again in the not too distant future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having seen all the positive reviews for this hotel - and the manager's replies - we decided to book a 2 night winter spa break. We were not disappointed. The service is excellent, with staff who are both professional and personable - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel will appeal to those who like both the modern and historic. Our room (Shelley) was contemporary, spacious and airy, but for those who like history the rooms in the tudor building have to be seen to be believed. Dining was a wonderful experience - fully deserving of the 2 rosette status. The spa has one of the better sized pools we have come across, and is designed for those who like to swim. The gym is very well equipped and the spa treatments wonderfully relaxing. We had such a great time that we didn't want to leave, so stayed to enjoy an afternoon tea looking out over the grounds which are lovely even in winter. We cannot understand how (very few) people have been disappointed with thier stay, but have to say that the management responses just encouraged us even more to visit. And we are not the only ones! This hotel fully deserves its Trip Advisor excellence award.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ajrSurrey

Thank you more than ever for writing your review !!
I naturally am thrilled that you not only had a great stay but are people with such amazing class to recognise the skill and sophistication of the management responses ! .....

In all seriousness though .... Guests feedback is important to us on any level as it allows us the chance to develop our services and standards continually. We appreciate your custom and hope we may be of some service to you both again in the future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitpon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with really great rooms all with Internet inc. bed was really comfy and the living space was just lovely. The gym and spa was great too and a 30 min workout with a 20 min swim was just what my doctor orders!
Breakfast was super too and well worth the trip. I didn't eat in in the evening as food prices are high for my budget and a taxi into the village for curry was a cheaper option. Taxi to drive 2 miles 6 quid. I would have walked but the road had no path and walking was not an option

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Dave E

My team and I appreciate you taking the time to write yoru review and are pleased to see you had a great time.

Best regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Who says good service is a thing of the past? This hotel proves otherwise. Staff couldn't have been more attentive, helpful and pleasant. All of them. The most relaxing weekend for years. Dinner in the restaurant was fab - the best table, a fine Argentinian Malbec and quality service. The spa is wonderful - and a chap called Ben moved mountains to re-arrange a massage appointment. Absolute luxury; total quality. The hotel was very busy all weekend, but so what. When lunch was slightly delayed, the manager apologise profusely. Then gave us our food for free. Before apologising again when we left the spa. That - generally-hopeless-service-at-British-hotels - is how to do a guest experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conniwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Conniwot

Many thanks for your review ... We are thrilled you had a great experience with us.
Do come again !

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The lovely tutor building to sleep in and the luxury of a very modern well equipped SPA makes a weekend break away extremely special.Relaxing Sunday breakfast in the old chairs with the paper, not feeling rushed at all.We often have weekends away and this hotel ticked all the boxes ...what's more the walks just outside the hotel are gorgeous , good views of Surrey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DeborahE

Thank you for your review.
It is great to read you had such a relaxing and comfortable time. The team and I hope to see you again in the future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely hotel restaurant and spa.
Great individual, well furnished rooms-lovely views.
Wecoming staff.
Suberp food and service.
The spa offers all the normal treatments - but you are just as welcome to swim/sauna/hot tub or sit by the pool with a book and be left in peace.
Great place to go for a relaxing break.
Unfussy luxury.
(Going back in June )

Room Tip: Haven't had a disappointing room yet- but overlooking the lake is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Beachsleeper

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so pleased you have had a great stay and even more thrilled to read you are coming back to see us again in June.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing