We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for a long romantic weekend before she moved abroad for work for 6 months. We were both extremely happy with our stay and were so glad we booked there.

When we booked the stay we arranged for a full-body massage each for just after arrival. This massage was so good that we immediately made a booking for another massage for our last day. This was also excellent. The price is extremely good value when compared to other spas in the area. There was a wide range of treatments on offer as well as unlimited use of the steam room, sauna and pool.

We stayed in one of the suites and the room was very nice (and very clean). I particularly liked the big fluffy dressing gowns. There were 2 televisions, one with the sofas and one facing the bed.

The only criticism is that the hallway and stairs in the main building do have the feel of a university halls of residence. However, the reception is lovely with a big log fire (and a very friendly receptionist).

The restaurant, which is in the old house, is traditionally wood panelled (I suggest that you look at the pictures on the website). There is another room with big old fashioned leather sofas next to a big log fire in this building. We retired for drinks here, sitting next to the fire, reading a book.

The food in the restaurant was first rate. The restaurant previously had 2 rosettes but has recently dropped to one rosette. Clearly the hotel wants to get this back as they have got a new chef who serves amazing food. There is a great mixture of traditional dishes (e.g. Scallops) along with some more unusual ones (for example mushroom panna cotta or terrine with toasted brioche). All the dishes used expensive ingedients and were delicious. We only ate there for 2 nights, yet there was a different menu on the second night. All the food was cooked perfectly and was extremely well presented. On the Saturday night a live pianist performed in the restaurant, which really added to the romantic mood.

The hotel is prefectly located for long walks in the countryside and they even provide a range of routes starting and finishing at the hotel. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and well worth exploring.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They were extremely friendly and very attentive. Whilst in the restaurant or spa you are well taken care of - the waiters were always very observant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-Rey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear P-Rey

Thank you so much for your review.
We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed all of our facilities.
I am so pleased to share that the two rosettes which were both lost in previous years have BOTH now been regained and our chef and the food and beverage team are striving towards their third.

Make sure you come and visit us again (maybe to treat your girlfriend on her return in 6 months).

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have returned today from a couple of days at Lythe Hill. I have to say for us everything was perfect. The room was a nice size with a good view of the gardens and lake. It was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We only had afternoon tea and breakfast in the restaurant, both of which were very nice. We ordered room service in the evening after we had worked up an appetite in the sauna, steam room and very nice sized swimming pool. Today my wife and I both had treatments in the spa, my wife had a wrap and deluxe pedicure and I had a full body massage and facial, we both agreed it was one of the best experiences we have had (and we have had a few). Although it either rained or snowed the whole time we were there so we did not get to stroll through the gardens, they did look very nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel we will be returning, probably when its a bit warmer so we can go for that stroll in the gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JotimBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear jotimbracknell

The team and I appreciate you having taken the time to post your review and we are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay.
Comments such as your are truly motivating for the team and we hope you will come and treat yourself again soon !

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything looks right about this hotel, but the bed was soft enough to give anyone a bad back, the iron didn't work, the loo wouldn't stop flushing, the bar prices were outrageous and they were very concerned to be paid on arrival, very concerned indeed. Not my idea of a hotel....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophisticated1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear sophisticated1948

Your comments are naturally a shame to read.
However we only wish we could have addressed them at the time rather than your brief mention on check out when you were departing and not at ANY point during your stay with us.
With regards the payment on arrival this was merely a credit authorisation and not a payment. This is common hotel practice across the globe.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I really had a perfect stay here, I really couldn't fault it at all. The rooms are lovely, and the bed is so comfortable. The food also again is perfect. The hake and the braised lamb both beautifully cooked to perfection. Breakfast in the morning again perfect. The staff here are very professional and ever so helpful too. I loved it so much I returned a week later and got a free upgrade to an executive room too.
Fantastic place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat-Max-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Starrtraveller

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased you had another great stay and hope we will be a chosen destination again for you in the not too distant future !

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed for unfortunately only one night with my girlfriend and wish that we could have added another week or two. The hotel, spa and surroundings were brilliant, but the real deal was the restaurant. From the welcome before dinner to the amazing food during. Every course we had was a thing of beauty (taste and looks) and sizes of portions would be appreciated by the most discerning of people. We never managed to meet the chef but hope he was informed of our love for his food. Finally a thank you to Roman for being a wonderful host and providing the warmest of welcomes. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank covblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Covblaze

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
The food and beverage team are thrilled you had such a great experience in the restaurant in particular. THe Head Chef and his new brigade have worked tirelessly to achieve their recent 2 rosette accolade and feedback such as your make it worth while...

Do come and see us again soon.
Roman says hello !

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having visited Lythe Hill Hotel on several occasions, we have always received a warm and friendly welcome from all the staff. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds and looks very picturesque with the lake.
The food and service are excellent and the staff are very attentive. There is a pool, spa and beauty treatment rooms, which are overlooking the picturesque grounds with plenty of parking space.
Lythe Hill is a lovely Country Hotel at which we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.
P&G

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Pam H

The team and I appreciate your comments and review.
Please do come and stay with us again soon ...

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked at the very last minute and were looking for a nice and relaxing hotel to get away from it all for a weekend; we were not disappointed! The Lythe Hill Hotel is really comfortable, nicely decorated and very welcoming. Breakfast was tasty and had good quality sausages, although for me there was no veggie alternative, which was not much of a problem as breakfast very filling and substantial but would have been an additional nice touch to have a bit more choice in the cooked breakfast!
The views and surrounding area is brilliant and the hotel offers a great range of walking routes to look into. The bar was nice and had a lovely view, although is very much more of a pre-drinks restaurant bar. It could have done with some draught ales and decent cider but that's just a matter of personal taste! would certainly go back and happily recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Katrinhep

Many thanks for your feedback.
We are delighted you had a great stay .... Your comments relating to the draught beer have been discussed at length in the past and we really do wish to retain our 2 rosette dining atmosphere and feel the addition of draught pumps in th restaurant would really create the "pub" look that we are staying away from.
However, do let me know when you are joining us next and I will assure you of some fantastic local cidre !

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
523 reviews
6.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: $123 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing