We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of Strathire

Strathire
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haslemere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathire
Ranked #6 of 7 Haslemere B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed with Malcolm and Joyce for a couple of nights last week (May 2013) and it was a lovely experience. They are very welcoming and hospitable, highly recommended if you need a place to stay !! Even though i had to leave early in morning, they made me a great breakfast roll to take with me on my travels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
10
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spalt, Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed with Joyce and Malcolm only for 2 nights in March 2013 but I was very impressed with the Accommodation and of course with Joyce and Malcolm who really made me feel at home. I enjoyed the little talks we had during Breakfast, Even though the weather could have been better (it snowed) I was still able to go for little walks that Malcolm had advised me of.
Joyce, Malcolm thank you both for a lovely stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having just arrived in England the previous day, we travelled to Haslemere to experience a bit of the English countryside. Found Strathire by mere chance on the web and stayed one night with my children, over the weekend, and had a delightful and peaceful time. What a stroke of luck! Joyce and Malcolm Harris are warm and welcoming hosts. Very helpful in guiding us to the sites and walks. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marquezfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

it was March 2012 I stayed for a friend's wedding. I have never stayed anywhere where I have been made to feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was quality oozing sumptiousness. My room was spotless and comfortable. Malcolm and Joyce are wonderful hosts who find interest in every guest and make one feel special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_mcl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Full disclosure - I became engaged while staying in this b and b, but I fully believe our stay would have been just as lovely anyway!
We were made to feel welcome by Mr Harris as soon as we arrived, and shown to a beautiful room. We were sharing a bathroom, but as it was so nearby the room, it didn't matter. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was massive, and there was tea, coffee and a full kettle waiting for us!
Breakfast was good value - cereal, a croissant and a full English. My fiance is a vegetarian so no sausage and bacon for him, but he was given extra egg and tomatoes so was plenty satisfied! The Harrises were very knowledgable about the area and able to advise where we could get dinner.
The system of leaving your key behind works well, as we were back late both nights and were glad to not have to wake anyone coming home! It also helped that it is very central to Haslemere High Street so we didn;t have far to stumble!
The house itself is gorgeous, well appointed and full of interesting little artefacts.
Our hosts were extra kind as, when they found out our happy news, they presented us with a beautiful plate by way of congratulations!
In all, I would heartily recommend the Strathire for a weekend away, or for longer if you are in the area. We would certainly return if we are ever in the area for good value, friendliness and the fantastic welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed for one night at the Strathire on the 4th August for a wedding in the area. Both Malcolm and Joyce were extremely welcoming, accomodating and friendly, and I felt very looked- after.
Their bed and breakfast is a very charming house, very clean, and set in beautiful grounds. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast was delicious!
They were the perfect hosts, and it was lovely to stay there. I would definitely go back again.

Thanks again to both of you!
K

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant 2-night stay at Strathire, a lovely B&B in a very picturesque part of England.

Joyce and Malcome Harris were the perfect hosts and breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for them and Joyce even dropped us off at the train station when we left!

We stayed for a wedding and with accommodation quite hard to come by in the area, this was the perfect option, just a short distance away from the train station in Haslemere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.3 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 7 in Haslemere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#2 of 7 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 2 in Churt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathire

Property: Strathire
Address: Strathire Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathire 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathire is a delightful period property in a rural setting, yet only 500m from centre of the olde worlde town of Haslemere (AONB) Well kept landscape gardens of an acre. Strathire looks across tree filled valley to Hindhead, famous for its National Trust Park and beautiful walks. Magnificent views from all windows. Original features. Oak Panelled hall, wide impressive staircase. Rooms excellent size. Warm Welcome. Comfort and care,. Local produce and delicious breakfasts,.Well situated for A3, Heathrow/Gatwick. 5 min rail link Waterloo/London/Guildford. Goodwood festival of speed/Chichester. Private parking for seven cars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathire Haslemere, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing