We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Asperion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asperion
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This small hotel has everything you need for a weekend break. Rooms are very clean but small, with a very compact bathroom via sliding door. Good location, parking limited. Very friendly and helpful staff. We booked a superior double, however be warned on arrival we were informed this description is their standard double, which is misleading. Loved the extras; free wifi, lovely luxurious fluffy bath towels, honesty bar and comfy settees for night cap! Good value for money in this affluent area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernowlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for booking your accommodation with us for your recent weekend break in Guildford, and for posting your review.

We are delighted that you found our hotel clean and our location convenient, and that you made use of our private car park (complimentary for all guests). Thank you for appreciating our "extras", such as free high-speed internet connection, our honesty bar and the quiet atmosphere of our lounge. It's also nice to read that you found Asperion being really good value for money in Guildford.

We appreciate your comments about the size of our standard double rooms and we have taken them on board, by amending the room name on all our booking channels. We do have larger rooms that we are always happy to offer as an upgrade whenever possible.

Thank you again for your much appreciated review and we hope to welcome you back at Asperion in the near future.

Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    150
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
73
177
75
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrant Hinton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff are so friendly and pleasant. The hotel is very clean and contains every thing needed for a weekend break, even free wifi. Its is well situated to all the amenities in Guildford. Theres even an honesty bar for the last drink of the night. Breakfast menu was full of choice, nothing seemed too much trouble ie extra coffee and toast. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: A room at the rear as the main road is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford, and for posting your excellent review.

We are delighted that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff and that you found your room clean, well appointed and good value for money. I am also glad that you made the most of our free wi-fi connection. We have recently improved it by installing a high-speed router to provide our guests with the most efficient Internet connection, still free of charge.

Thank you for your comments about our honesty bar and about our delicious breakfast. We pride ourselves on using fresh and local produce, organic whenever possible, and we cook our dishes with a true passion for good and healthy food.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel did what it said on the tin. Excellent condition. Staff were excellent as well. I managed to drop my luggage off early and when I go to check in already in my room and I loved the honesty bar!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford, and for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and it's lovely to read your excellent comments about the property and the staff. We always welcome the guests to come and drop their luggage in the morning, as well as to leave their cars in the parking lots, whenever they arrive before check in time. I am glad you made the most of this opportunity.

Thank you for your positive feedback about the honesty bar. We believe it's one of those "little touches" that give a special coziness to our hotel. We also pride ourselves on offering a selection of 100% organic wines, spirits and juices, as well as delicious local ale and cider.

Thanks again for your comments and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kindest regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed for only one night at the Asperion Hotel in Guildford and I feel really satisfied. Excellent position, only 10 minutes walking from the centre of the city, pubs, clubs and shops. Same distance for bus station and train station, where you can take the fast train to London Waterloo (you will be in the centre of London zone 1 in only 40 minutes and every 15 minutes there is a fast train!!). There is also a direct train from and to Gatwick Airport. At the same time this hotel is in a quite zone with no traffic and noise. Perfect room with soft and confortable bed, scented sheets and pillows, totally furnished: hangers, table, kettle with tea & coffee set, mini fridge with fresh water inside, trousers press. Beautiful bathroom with large shower box and a complete set of towels and shower gels. Superb breakfast with whatever you want: yogurth, coffe, tea, fruits and there is also a chef that cooks for you a good english breakfast choosen from the menu. But the BEST THING is the staff: kind, brilliant, ready to help you with whatever you need. Although there is no a 24h reception, Cristina is ALWAYS available also to suggest about places to visit, the best way to reach them and restaurants where eating. She is the best staff person that I have ever met in a hotel!! I will not need a hotel room in Guildford in the future but when someone will come to visit me I will UNDOUBTELY book for them a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent visit to Guildford, and for posting this excellent and truly rewarding review!

It was a pleasure for me to accommodate your needs and to help you with your move and house-hunting. Customer care is our priority and we go the extra mile to deliver the best possible service in a friendly and homely atmosphere.

I am delighted that you found your room comfortable and well appointed. Thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast – you are right, it is truly delicious!
I am also glad that you appreciated our convenient location, which is within walking distance of Guildford town centre and well connected to London, Gatwick and Heathrow.

I would like to thank you for highlighting the friendliness of the staff and the helpful attitude that they have. We work in the hospitality industry because we are sincerely passionate about it. The spontaneity and the warmth of your comments make our effort more than worthwhile.

I wish you all the best for this coming year at University and I hope we will be able to accommodate your guests from Italy in the near future.

Kindest regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

As the lady said "the hospitality industry must offer hospitality above all". This was so clearly borne out during our 2 night stay. All the little details were willingly attended to. All members of staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs - dropping our suitcase early; a glass of milk at bedtime for a very tired 9 year old dancer; and a HARD boiled egg at breakfast. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. Staff were friendly and made time to chat. Truly "home from home".
Thank you very much.
Sally and Honor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you experienced the "home away from home" feeling that we aim to provide. We truly believe that the hospitality industry should offer hospitality above all. Consequently, we endeavour to offer the best possible service in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

Thank you for your comments about our delicious breakfast and for appreciating the special attentions you received - this is actually what customer service is all about!

It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you and your lovely daughter. We wish her all the best for her career as a dancer and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at Asperion.

Kindest regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed just the one night as I was in Guildford for a wedding. They were happy for me to pick up the key earlier than the normal check-in time as I knew I wouldn't be able to get back until very late. Only a small thing, but it took away the one thing that I was worried about on the day.

The rooms are pretty basically furnished, but they have all you need. The bed was comfortable and the en-suite was excellent. The only downside in the bedroom was that the aircon unit was very loud. Saying that, I still slept with it on.

I sadly missed breakfast, so can't comment on that, but the service in the morning was friendly and helpful.

In short, I would definitely stay there again should I need a bed in or around Guildford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford and for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room comfortable and well appointed, with all the facilities you expected. Thanks for your comments about our friendly welcome and the helpful service you received. I am sorry you missed breakfast in the morning - what a shame! It's actually a good reason for you to come back and try it.

I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend in Guildford and thank you again for your valuable feedback. We sincerely hope to welcome you back at Asperion very soon.

Best regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Was here on a 2 day stay. Hotel is small with tiny rooms but it have the most friendly staff and brilliant breakfast. WiFi worked flawless in room, what not always are the case at smaller hotels. It's the best value for money hotel I have been at in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford, and for taking the time to post your review on this web site.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I truly appreciated your comments about our breakfast. We use fresh, locally sourced and organic produce whenever possible, and we cook our dishes to order with passion and attention to detail. It's nice to see that you appreciated our efforts!

Thanks for your lovely comments about the staff, too. We always strive to make our guests feel at home, in a friendly and informal environment. We believe small, independently run hotels like ours can offer outstanding value for money and the warmest welcome, and we are delighted to see that you appreciated this.

Thank you again for your excellent feedback. We sincerely hope you will come and stay at Asperion again on the occasion of your next trip to the area.

Best Regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.9 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
1.0 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion

Property: Asperion
Address: 73 Farnham Road, Guildford GU2 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
#3 Business Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asperion Hotel is a multi-award winning 4 star AA graded guest house, providing contemporary and stylish accommodation within walking distance of Guildford Town Centre. Passionately run, we are your "home away from home", offering a tranquil and friendly atmosphere. Asperion's enviable location puts us within walking distance of Guildford town centre, the train station, the University of Surrey, the Surrey Research Park & Sports Park, the Royal Surrey County Hospital, the Guildford Business Park, The College of Law, the Register Office and the Surrey County Courts. Frequent and fast trains to London make it suitable for commuting to the City in less than 30 minutes. We offer complimentary parking for our guests, Fibre optic Broadband and Complimentary Breakfast when you book direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asperion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asperion Hotel Guildford
Asperion Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing