We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Due to Work - Excellent”
Review of Asperion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asperion
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really cannot fault the Asperion, infact I really enjoyed my stay. Free broadband meant I could work all afternoon in my room and even have my evening meal there! The decor was lovely and the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was also brilliant.

The ethos and people were so nice and I would recomend as the place to stay in Guildford! There is only one thing - and that is that you can hear other guests but this is a minor thing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyluLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you loved your stay and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We all do our best to meet the guests' expectations and your feedback serves as a great motivator to the staff.

We sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us again, on the occasion of your next visit to this area.

Best regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 605 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We loved our short stay at The Asperion. It has a clean, crisp appeal and the staff are so helpful that it is obvious that they genuinely care about creating a lovely experience for guests. The weather was unexpectedly awful, with snow causing havoc for travellers and so It was heart-warming to witness the patience and generosity of our host, offering a place to rest even when she wasn't able to provide a definite booking for the night. A magnificent breakfast was served with friendly precision. My son had to be at an audition for Drama School very early and he was provided with an alternative breakfast so that he didn't have to leave hungry. The room we had (number 6) was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed even though it was a little bit on the small side, which wasn't really a problem for one night as it was so well designed. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighPeakHyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this web site.
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Asperion a homely, friendly and warm place to stay. We are sincerely passionate about what we do and it's lovely to see that you noticed this.
I wish all the best to your son for his career and I truly hope he will receive good news from the GSA.
I look forward to meeting you again at Asperion in the near future.
Kindest regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Guildford, this was my first stay at the Asperion but will not be my last! A very nice modern hotel, very good value, our room was well appointed, ample parking on site and very helpful and friendly staff. Close to the station and town centre so well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your excellent feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled that you found your room well appointed, our location and parking facilities convenient and our staff friendly and helpful. We all work with passion and dedication, and your compliments serve as a great motivator to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Asperion in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Asperion

If you're here for just one night and used to basic business hotels, this is fine. If you prefer boutique hotels and individually designed rooms, you could find this a cheerless place, which could be improved. Could do with some bright pictures on the wall. Big bare wall opposite the bed.
On a very busy road so rooms at front are noisy. No curtains and wooden blinds let in light, particularly as a light was right outside.
Water and chocolate on day one but not replaced for day 2. Same with toiletries. Used glass not washed up and replaced.
Have to turn fridge off as noisy overnight - not a normal hotel, built in model.
Only tea and coffee - no hot chocolate.
Breakfast was okay, though scrambled egg rather grey and solid.
Heating not on till after 4pm so very cold during the day.
Big talk about organic produce but nothing marked as organic on the evening menu.
Carpets need cleaning and laundry should be done away from fried food. Bedding and towels smelled of cooking - saw ironing carried out in the kitchen which confirmed it. Hole in bed sheet.
No drawers nor shelf to store clothes and possessions. No wardrobe - just a hanging rail with an already full storage shelf over.
Wifi useful.
Bathroom functioned well.
Parking on site was great.
Nice and close to the university and the A3. A 10 minute walk to the station and 15 minutes into town.
Big sign about customer service, but found staff uninterested and always unsmiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are, quite honestly, utterly surprised to read your comments, as they do not reflect accurately of who we are and what the vast majority of our guests would say about us.

We take great pride in offering clean, comfortable accommodation in a friendly and homely environment. We are truly passionate about what we do and we always try and go the extra mile to meet our guests’ expectations. The numerous awards we gained since our inception – Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and Number One among 15 hotels in Guildford, AA 4 star accommodation rating, Green Tourism Gold Certificate – reflect this ethos and our company policy.

We are keen on operating our business whilst respecting the environment. For this reason, we purchase locally sourced produce and organic, wherever and whenever possible. We are surprised to hear that you did not find our breakfast satisfactory, as it’s one of our points of strength, together with the cleanliness of our property and the friendliness of the staff – as confirmed by the majority of our reviews.

We are sincerely sorry that you did not bring any issues to our attention during your stay, as we would have been more than happy to address them immediately. However, we are also open-minded people, constantly willing to improve our service and strive for excellence. We will therefore take your comments on board, and we hope you will reconsider coming and staying with us on another occasion in the near future, and experience Asperion!

Best regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a small hotel furnished in a modern style close to the town centre and only about 500m away from the train station. A big plus is the car park alongside the building. The staff are extraordinarily friendly what reflects the hotel policy well (in brief):
1. The guest is always right.
2. If not, rule no. 1 applies.
The actual hotel policy is inscribed on a tablet in the lobby which is, by the way, also the breakfast room - kind of unusual, but no problem as long as there are not too many people checking out.

The rooms are spacious and clean (although the toilette in my room wasn't absolutely clean) and the furniture is relatively new. The breakfast was quite good by British standards: There was a fruit salad along with different cereals, yogurt, milk, and two different juices. Fresh brown or white toast was served and two different sorts of marmalade together with butter were prepared on the dining tables. In addition, one can have a regular English breakfast or any other combination of its elements (e.g. simply ham and eggs).

There are only a few minor drawbacks: Tea making equipment is provided in each room, but the electric water jug hardly fits under the water tap on the sink, so you have to take water from the shower. And there was no suitcase rack in my room.

Bottom line: A welcoming hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the
time to share this experience from your recent stay at Asperion.

We are delighted that you found our location convenient and that you
made the most of our parking facilities. We are also thrilled that
you appreciated the friendly approach of our staff and the fact that
we strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback about our breakfast. We pride ourselves
on making our food with passion and dedication, using fresh, locally
sourced and organic ingredients whenever possible. Breakfast is
cooked to order and, as you noticed, we are always happy to adapt the
menu to the guests' needs.

Thank you for your comments about the rooms. We are disappointed that
you found your bathroom not being as spotlessly clean as the room
itself. We do pride ourselves on a high standard of cleanliness and
have won a number of awards reflecting this, and can assure you that
this is not a regular occurrence.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. We sincerely
hope that you will come and stay at Asperion again in the near future.

Best regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We selected this guest house in Guildford one. because it had the best reviews on Tripadvisor and two. because it was one of the best value for money places to stay in Guildford.

Upon entering our standard double room, I did feel it seemed a lot smaller than the pictures displayed on Booking.com but nevertheless everything looked clean and inviting. There were loads of nice touches, such as the fridge with water, a box of tissues and toiletries etc - much more than I expected for the amount I paid.

I must mention, not so much as a criticism but mainly feedback for when we return again, that although I found the bed very comfortable, the duvet for me was very thin and not very warm.
This was forgotten when I saw the complimentary breakfast laid out in the morning, the cooked breakfasts we had on both mornings were delicious and the accompanying juices and yoghurt was very nice.

My boyfriend and I played our normal game of 'what could be better?' and the only thing we came up with is, cotton buds. These pesky things are nuisance to store in a travelling bag but inexpensive and nice for hotels/guest houses to supply.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiemy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you chose Asperion because of its good value for money and its excellent reputation. We are also thrilled that you appreciated the facilities and "nice touches" that you found in your room, such as complimentary water and chocolates, tissues and toiletries, fair trade coffee and teas.
Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast. We proud ourselves on choosing fresh, local, organic (whenever possible) ingredients, and we cook our dishes with passion and dedication. We aim at offering the highest quality products at the best possible value, and we are glad that you appreciated our effort.
I sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future. The next time, may I recommend booking one of our largest rooms (either a deluxe king or a double suite): more space for the two of you, and yet excellent value.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at Asperion.
Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

For this trip to my grandaughater christening, we stayed at the Asperion in Guildford. This is a convert house, with an additonal large wing built in the back garden, on the Farnham Road into Guildford. Easy to find, and good parking on site. The rooms were excellent, very clean with plenty of room. Breakfast is in the entrance lobby, sounds wrong, but did not feel so. An excellent cooked breakfast was served, the staff were very helpful and proactive, I would def stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, and early, we booked through Booking.com, a bit late, and found ourselves paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am thrilled that you found Asperion easy to locate and that you made the most of our parking facilities on site. Thank you for your positive feedback about the cleanliness of your room and the deliciousness of our cooked breakfast. I am also particularly grateful for your positive comments about the staff, as they serve as a great motivator for all the Asperion team. We go the extra mile to deliver the best service to our guests and it's nice to see that you appreciated our effort.

I sincerely hope that you will choose Asperion again whenever you happen to travel this area.

Best regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
3.1 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
511 reviews
1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion

Address: 73 Farnham Road, Guildford GU2 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
#3 Business Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asperion Hotel is a multi-award winning 4 star AA graded guest house, providing contemporary and stylish accommodation within walking distance of Guildford Town Centre. Passionately run, we are your "home away from home", offering a tranquil and friendly atmosphere. Asperion's enviable location puts us within walking distance of Guildford town centre, the train station, the University of Surrey, the Surrey Research Park & Sports Park, the Royal Surrey County Hospital, the Guildford Business Park, The College of Law, the Register Office and the Surrey County Courts. Frequent and fast trains to London make it suitable for commuting to the City in less than 30 minutes. We offer complimentary parking for our guests, Fibre optic Broadband and Complimentary Breakfast when you book direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asperion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asperion Hotel Guildford
Asperion Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing