We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Camper Van experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Orange222...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Camper Van experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We hired a VW camper van for one week Rod made the whole process of hiring the camper smooth and easy he took time to explain and show us various functions such as putting up the roof and bed. The camper was in good condition, easy to drive and comfortable to sleep in. We really enjoyed our holiday and would definitely use Retro Camper Vans again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F F
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kiwi was a joy to drive and a wonderful home away from home!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My first experience of a 1970s VW Camper was in the 70s when I was a young boy. I still have fond memories and my wife and I wanted to create memories for my children with a 1970s camper too. We hired Kiwi for a night and she did not disappoint. Spending a very wet few days with her it took a while to get comfortable, however as soon as the sun shone and we were able to move around freely outside we settled in and grew to love the experience. Driving this camper was a wonderful experience and taking a more relaxed approach to life was truly enlightening. We will definitely be back to hire again and my only change would be to add the awning to the hire, in case of torrential rain and to give us space to move our belongings around during the trip. Thanks for the memories Kiwi and Rod at Retro Campervan!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeb101
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved It would highly recommend Retro Camper van”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had an amazing time and would not hesitate to book again.. The fun and simplistiy of setting up for a night in a Retro Van is brilliant not to mention how nice everyone is whilst your on the Road with thumbs up and friendly toots! It was hard giving Mango back

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrzampa7
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you for a great experience, we had a lovely break...!”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My Family and I were fortunate enough to discover Retro Campervan while searching for Campervan's to hire on the internet. The Experience from start to finish was brilliant! From the moment we arrived to collect our Camper, the customer experience we received from Rod and Charlie was fab. Rod and Charlie spent time showing us how to use the camper and were great with our kids by getting them involved when doing the demonstration. Charlie was also kind enough to find us a booster seat for our youngest and provide us with a Awning for the side (at no extra cost) which was really nice of them. The Camper was fairly new (2013 model) both comfy and stunning which made our weekend away even more enjoyable. The kids loved it!

In short, if you want to hire a camper for the weekend / week then look no further and give Rod and Charlie a call. We are planning to book again soon and have even convinced friends of ours to join us also so we can hire a camper each.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RojjerB18
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best time!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have hired Retros in the past but this time we tried a new VW camper. It was great, comfortable, powerful and everything that you needed. The Company are easy and a pleasure to do business with and we will definitely be going back (but probably in a Retro again next time, they all look to be in superb condition). Rod is a very nice guy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew H
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great little van - kids loved it as did many other admirers.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The van looks great and sleeps 2 adults + 2 kids comfortably. A real change from a tent and drew many admirers.

Rod who runs the company was also very helpful and nice guy.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsbergs
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We hired Kiwi for the weekend and took it to the British GP - we had a ball. The van is in excellent condition and has a good range of accessories. It is a shock to go back to driving slowly and not having all mod cons (like air conditioning) but we really enjoyed it. Service was excellent from the team and they were really helpful. Would't hesitate to recommend them.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing