We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs polishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a nice independent hotel. The staff are friendly but restaurant staff need basic training in phone answering and taking room service orders professionally. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped but need a really good clean. Rooms tend to have tiny ensuite shower rooms which are adequate but not luxurious. Areas not cleaned in the rooms include, skirting boards, radiators, pelmets and tops of everything. Not great. Food is tasty and well cooked although portions can be small. Location is perfect for everything in Guildford!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road are predictably noisy!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoping_to_help_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you fior taking time to leave your review. Thank you also for your very kind comments about the staff at the hotel, the team work hard and it is always pleasing to read that our guests find them friendly.

I was obviously less pleased to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your bedroom. I have taken this matter up with our housekeeping department and asked that a full 'spring clean' inspection is carried out.

As you will have noticed, the hotel is nearing the very end of a major redecoration and refurbishment programme. I have also taken the matter up with our decoraters and asked that every room is thoroughly checked and serviced ahead of its return to use. It may be that your room had been redecorated and whilst fully serviced some dust may not have been allowed to settle?

Ahead of your return to the hotel I would be grateful if you could contact me via ian.blyth@guildford.com so that I may personally welcome you back and if appropriate arrange a room upgrade by way of apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 755 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

we've stayed here several times and love this hotel. Great location, service and price. Lovely bar and a good selection for breakfast too. The only negative was on one occasion a private party at the venue was very loud till late but luckily we were far enough away to get a decent nights sleep. I'd definitely recommend this hotel- lovely place, would like to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanannah_207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Comfortable room. Service good. Food ok - plenty of other nice eateries in Guildford. I would use this hotel again if visiting Guildford. There is a car park for guests at the front of the hotel - free parking but on a first come first served basis and the number of spaces are limited. It always seemed packed to me. However, there is an alternative. For a charge (& if there's availability) you can pre book parking with the hotel that guarantees a space. I did this and it was well worthwhile. As you pull into the hotel, proceed through to the barrier (at the side of the hotel and in front of you). From here you buzz reception who lift the barrier and you enter a more secure car park at the back of the building

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Myself and 2 girlfriends stayed here May bank holiday weekend and couldn't fault it? The hotel was fully booked and there was also a wedding party staying at the same time but we still managed to get 2 free parking spaces on the front of the hotel. Girls on reception very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a triple room (115) and it wasn't the biggest room we've ever stayed in but it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including tea & coffee making facilities which was very welcome after a long journey on motorway! We had a few drinks in the hotel bar before hitting Guildford town centre (x3 alcoholic drinks £15 so not cheapest but to be expected for the area) hotel is very centrally located and town centre only few minutes walk lots of choice for places to eat and drink. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, continental choices and full cooked options - great choice of fresh bread (even had my favourite granary!) and real butter! Just what we needed after a night on the town! Fab hotel - would deffo book again and recommend to others

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Campervan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

had room 7 for two nights may 2014 - the absolute smallest room i've ever seen in my life! could reach up to the ceiling and almost reach from side to side in the room! that said, the staff was very nice. no gym and a hike to the SPECTRUM CENTER which was very nice, if expensive (15 USD for a workout session) - in all, nice looking and nice people but very very small rooms!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Staff are always polite and friendly. Rooms excellent. Breakfast brilliant. I stay here regularly and always made to feel welcome. Staff can't do anymore to make stay enjoyable. Feels like a home from home. Looming forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiedonachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked and payed online 5 months or so in advance.
Close to sons wedding venue so was ideal place to stay.
Inquired about parking and was assured that it was no problem.
Also recommended this place to 14 other members of family who also booked.
On the day, yes you guessed I had to park in council car park over the road for the day and night at a cost. So be careful. I was assured that I didn't have to pre book car park. Not something advised from reception staff.
Room was small and I mean really small and stuffy. Thank goodness it was only the one night. Was told by reception staff " What do you expect from a city hotel"
We paid the extra for breakfast which was plentiful and of good quality. Customer service was very good and friendly.
Maybe the staff running the breakfast can give the reception staff some customer service training.

Would not recommend . Will not ever go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masspfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,936 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: $88 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing