We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

From the images you see of this and the cost, you'd expect to be staying in a luxury hotel at the top of Guildford.

Reality could not be more different. I have stayed here many times for both work and pleasure, and every time it has been a let down. The rooms are very small and outdated, and some have been next to very noisy generators.

Parking is also limited. I turned up when the car park was full and was advised by the receptionist to go to the pay and display car park opposite. When you're already spending a lot on a room, you don't want to pay for parking too.

Pay a little more and go to The Raddison.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    207
    148
    89
    80
See reviews for
101
215
45
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night for business.

I had booked a double room for one person, so that I had the space to spread out and work in the evening after dinner.

Although the room was clean and presentable, the room was tiny, just big enough for the double bed and a small table. No air conditioning, which didn't help as it was one of the hottest day's of the year.

I visited the bar to get a drink and although the receptionist was trying to get someones attention at the bar by calling the phone, no one came to take any drinks orders.

The receptionist staff where polite and helpful.

There is an additional charge of £7 to use the car park, and with very little parking at the front of the hotel, there was no option as there was no on the road parking.

The bar food was average, and over priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband stays here every week for work, he likes the location, breakfast & bar. I have stayed once with him on an incredibly hot night - it was impossible to sleep even with the window (& curtains!) wide open - other residents complained of the lack of air conditioning & hot rooms & the noise throughout the night from the room above and beside showed other guests were struggling to sleep too. The bar is nice, location great & reasonably priced for this area of the country. Next week when hubby stays though he is taking a fan!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMW228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Attending the Magic Summer Live event on 14 July, we booked this hotel as it had a perfect location... and all started well when we were able to check in early and leave our bags in the room as we headed off to the festival.
However on our return at 10.35pm we found that the bar had already been closed (it is advertised as opening until 11pm on a Sunday) and trying to talk to either the Bar Staff or the Duty Manager (Gabor) was like talking to a brick wall.
The Manager refused to re-open the bar and simply stated that he had closed it and that was that. He could nothing and was not willing to offer any recompense.
By this time there were probably 20 residents in the reception area who had returned from the festival, all hoping to grab a drink and chat through the day's events.
The Duty Manager was the most unhelpful Manager I have come across, and I almost feel embarrassed to call him a Manager as he did absolutely nothing to try and manage the situation. Indeed after a while he simple took himself off into a 'back-room' to hide and left the lady on reception to try and deal with a group of disgruntled residents. To be fair to her she did her best to try and contact the Hotels Manager but 'his phone was not answered'.
All in all the service from the Duty Manager was appalling and how he felt he could close
the bar early is beyond me - especially when the Hotel must have been aware that a large number of residents would be in the hotel shortly after the event finished at 10.30pm.
The above in itself would lead me to score the hotel poorly, and there was little about breakfast to encourage me to increase my satisfaction level. After sending my bread through the toaster 5 times i eventually gave up, and in retrospect may have achieved a better slice of toast had i held the bread over a lighter match!
So, great location for the event but would i go back? Not a chance based the evidence of the service provided (or not provided as the case was) by the so called Duty Manager.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildfordhotel, General Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to leave your review; whilst the contents obviously do not make pleasant reading I welcome all customer feedback.

May I begin by offering my sincere apologies to you and your party. It is clear that your experience at The Mandolay Hotel not only fell well below the standard you have every right to expect but also below the standards that we consistently deliver to thousands of guests each year.

I am sure you will understand that I cannot comment on the behaviour of a member of hotel staff without first having discussed the events personally? I will be conducting a thorough investigation into the situation and if you would like to contact me via customer.service@guildford.com with your email address I will keep you fully appraised of my findings.

With regard to the toaster, it is obvious that the controls had been re-set, this piece of equipment is very reliable and I have personally checked on its condition this morning. The controls are now set correctly again and it is making great toast.

Please accept my apologies for this situation; I have asked all breakfast staff to pay particular attention to the settings and act immediately if anybody is experiencing similar difficulty.

Once again, many thanks for your candid comments. I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully to welcoming you back to The Mandolay Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My room was in a group of rooms separate from the hotel. The room was small and smelt damp and the en-suite was a narrow toilet/shower cubicle. Everything worked OK. Reception staff said it was OK to not bother with car reg on booking in, but I had a sticker on my windscreen the next morning. Wasn't told breakfast closed at 9.30, so missed out on food. On mentioning both issues I felt the staff couldn't care less, both staff members were not UK so there may have been a lack of understanding but if they had apologised for any inconvenience it would have made a big difference. Politeness pays but costs nothing. B&B deal was booked by my company £119 for the night. Guildford must have a lot of business trade if they are this laid back in dealing with customers. Poor value for money and there are better hotels nearer the centre with nicer rooms and staff (Radisson, The Angel, etc., which I have used before and will again). I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel clean, tidy & recently renovated. Quick, efficient check-in on arrival. Trendy bar & restaurant. Rooms lovely. Overlooking garden at the rear of hotel. Less than 5 minutes walk to bars, restaurants & town centre. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Muvvers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel as we come here during Ascot week. I was very pleased to see I had been put in Room 81 again, which is in the attic, and is very nice. The room was spacious and decorated to a high standard and was impeccably clean. The beds are also very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and even let us stay a little bit later than the normal check out time. It is in a great location and only a short walk from the main high street. For the location, standard of service and overall ambiance the price we paid is very reasonable (when booked in advance). However, I do wish they served room service until midnight rather than 10pm as we just missed it one night and had to go out searching for somewhere to get food.
I highly recommend this hotel and will be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit more for a deluxe or executive for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing