We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice property and good walking location

This NT property is tenanted and so the house is not open until 2 pm. There are six rooms packed... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2018
R1chardN
,
Surbiton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Relaxing venue

This is an excellent NT property with extensive walks & attractive pond. Lovely Stables cafe with... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Paul R
,
Fair Oak
via mobile
Read all 269 reviews
  
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
121
115
25
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
115
25
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews space hoppers musical instruments bluebell woods national trust tree house famous composers polesden lacey extensive grounds front lawn beautiful parkland impressive collection adventure play area stable yard pony rides fascinating house nt property family home
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 269 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Had been numerous times for outdoor plays but went in to house for first time last week. Elegant and beautiful, fascinating pianos and instruments, a couple of Titians hiding amongst the masterpieces! Atmospheric with knowledgable staff and they have piano recitals occasionally that its well to book for as they are very popular and sell out quickly. Good cafe and gift shop. Decent parking. Lovely!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We were heading for Polesden Lacey but there was an urgent need for a comfort stop & lunch so we stopped at Hatchlands Park as it was closer. The young man at reception was so welcoming & helpful - the lunch arrangements allowed us to sit outside in a sheltered sunny area with our dog. The chicken soup was amazing - not salty and full of pieces of vegetables (not mashed into a pulp). The seasoning was perfect - even my chef wife admitted it was as good as hers! The bread was like her home made too version too. The walks around the park and through the woods were very enjoyable and other visitors friendly & happy.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

My wife and I are regular visitors to Hatchlands Park. The walks and settings are wonderful and a welcome cup of tea / coffee at the end is very welcome

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank barriemorse1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

When the rain stopped around midday, we wondered where to spend the afternoon, and chose Hatchlands Park, because we know how lovely it is.

When we started our walk around the perimeter, the sun had just come out, and everything was sparkling and fresh. True, the bluebells we enjoyed on our last visit had long gone, being early September, but the woodlands and trees made up for this, and the whole park looked well-maintained and cared-for.

To my mind, Hatchlands is underrated and often ignored by walkers and National Trust visitors, being so close geographically to the NT showpiece of Polesdon Lacey. Long may that continue, if it keeps the number of visitors down to an acceptable level.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We had no problem parking and the reception member of staff was very helpful. we were given a map & followed the pink trail clockwise which circumnavigated the Hatchlands Park estate.
The path was even and easy to walk on. It is slightly confusing after the woodland diversion as there are no pink signs at the end of the wood. There are plenty of places to allow a well behaved dog off the lead. We walked to the stables & purchased a tasty lunch of sandwiches & cream tea. We had a dog & we were allowed to sit inside the stable cafe in the courtyard. Would definitely recommend Hatchlands Park for a dog walk & lunch with friends.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ibis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews