We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a child free night and a stay in the hotel, we arrived to cake and rose petals, what a lovely time we had and enjoyed the afternoon tea so much. Thank you for the great level of service

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent night away and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear we were able to surprise and delight you and you thoroughly enjoyed your Queen of Hearts Afternoon Tea. I am pleased to hear you experienced the high levels customer service we strive to provide all our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    577
    259
    115
    92
See reviews for
254
708
63
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have just had the msfortune to overnight at this hotel after a function. The Superior Queen room was poky at best and the facilities, whilst surface smart, lacked effectiveness. The TV didn't work, the walk-in shower could barely find the energy to dribble through the showerhead and the towels more nearly resembled sandpaper. The soap, shampoos etc were carefully bolted to the walls rendering efficient use thereof either difficult or impossible.
The bed was fine, if somewhat high the pillows hard but generally satisfactory. The in-room magazine entertainment was awesome - 2 magazines, one entitled Baxaar (fashion) and one entitled - wait for it - Wallpaper!
Don't get me started on the breakfast - tea which was so weak and tepid it could hardly claim to be a beverage at all and one-sided toast.
The only saving grace was the human side - the staff were unfailingly helpful and polite.

Room Tip: If all the other rooms were like mine you are doomed. I suspect, however, that others are better - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to the area.

I am very sorry to hear you were not overly pleased with your recent stay with us. Our Superior bedrooms are the smallest we offer however we also have Deluxe, Business Class and Junior Suites should guests require additional space. I am sorry to hear of the issues experienced such as your TV not working and the showerhead. Had a member of staff been made aware of this whilst you were in house, a member of our onsite Maintenance Department would have been able to rectify this swiftly for you.

As I am sure you understand, mattress firmness is down to individuals preference and we are unable to cater to everyone's likes, however we do have hollowfibre pillows available on a guest request basis. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed reading the two magazine provide in the bedrooms, Bazaar and Wallpaper*. As you say, Bazaar covers fashion and Wallpaper* magazine covers breaking news across design, interior, art, architecture, fashion, travel, and technology. I am sorry to hear the breakfast offering was not to your liking and have asked my Food & Beverage Manager to look into this to ensure it is not a repeated incident. I am delighted to hear the staff you encountered were helpful and polite and I hope you will consider allowing us to restore your faith in us on a future visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is not much over a year old and that reflects in the entire hotel. The décor, furniture, beds, curtains etc. are all as new. The bed was big and extremely comfortable, the staff courteous and very helpful, and the food excellent at breakfast. This hotel ticked all of the boxes for me and I would recommend it whole heartedly. If it is slightly more expensive than what you normally expect, then it is well worth paying the difference!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent visit to Surrey and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you found the hotel was as new, as we are fast approaching our 3rd year of operation however we take great care in maintaining the property. I am pleased to hear you found our beds extremely comfortable and all staff you met were courteous and helpful and I am also pleased to hear the food offering was to your liking. Our rates fluctuate depending on the time of year and there are always preferable rates available on our website.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Have just come back from a wonderful weekend at the Radisson. Its location means Guildford is on your doorstep so you can simply park your car when you arrive and not gave to drive it again until you leave. The staff were all very helpful and the room was gorgeous- I literally felt like a princess for the whole weekend! The spa next door gives amazing massages and the hotel restaurant 'Scoff and Banter' did lovely food (especially the burgers!). Would highly recommend, we are already planning our next visit!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Melanie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent weekend away.

I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful weekend with us and found the hotels location at the top of Guildford’s High Street convenient for trips into town. I am very pleased to hear the staff were friendly, room was gorgeous and you enjoyed time in both our spa and Scoff & Banter Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at the Radisson for a recent conference in Guilford and found the staff was, without exception, incredibly friendly, warm and helpful. There was a technical problem in my room and they did their utmost to resolve it in a timely manner. They were gracious and always on hand with a delicious fruit flavored water. The room was very nice and clean and I especially enjoyed use of the spa which was lovely and relaxing (I only wish the second jet stream had been working in the pool). Breakfast was delicious too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to Surrey and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear that all the staff you encountered were incredibly friendly, warm and helpful. I am very sorry there was a technical problem in your room however I’m glad that our in house departments were able to rectify this swiftly for you. I am pleased that the bedroom and breakfast buffet was to your liking and you were able to enjoy time in our wet spa area. I have asked my Maintenance Manager to look into the second contra jet to ascertain why it was not functioning during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Biggest problem in these rooms if you are female is there is nowhere to do your hair/make up. No mirror near plug sockets - obviously designed by a man! A big oversight. Otherwise a really lovely room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your visit to Surrey.

I am sorry to hear you had difficulty in finding somewhere to do your hair and makeup. The majority of our bedrooms are fitted with a desk with a mirror situated either above it or beside it. There are also numerous plug sockets at this desk as many business travellers use these to complete work. I am sorry if on this occasion you were not in one of these bedrooms and ask that if a future booking is made please ask for one of these rooms. I am delighted to hear that otherwise you found the room to be really lovely.

We hope to welcome you back on a future visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

went for a spa break. really nice hotel, great restaurant and close to the centre of town. room was quiet and even though it was Saturday night we got a good nights sleep. Guildford is great for countryside and walks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent spa break and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you thought the hotel was really nice with a great restaurant and well situated in the heart of Guildford town. I am pleased to hear you had a peaceful night’s sleep.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing