We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the little things that count”
Review of Little Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guildford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gables
Ranked #2 of 24 Guildford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its the little things that count”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at little Gables for only one night, but it was amongst the best B and B's that we have stayed at. The house is stunning. The room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. Daphne and Philip look after the accommodation to the highest standard. Little touches of quality appear in both the bedroom and the bathroom. We would definitely stay there again and recommend Little Gables highly to anyone wanting to stay in the Guildford area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiPott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
44
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed with Phil and Daphne for 1 night at the end of November on my way up to London, I just wished I could have stayed longer! Little Gables is beautifully situated down a country lane with woodland on one side and a large open garden on the other.
To get directions I stopped off at the local pub and there met Phil who was very welcoming and within a very few minutes I was at Little Gables being warmly greeted by Daphne. Not one but two really friendly and helpful hosts! I had a very comfortable double room (Cleeves) with all that I needed. The shower room was sparklingly clean and the power shower a delight. A peaceful night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast starting with a genuinely fresh fruit salad. I'm not a "full English" eater but Phil served just what I wanted. Thank you Phil and Daphne, I look forward to staying at Little Gables again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaide1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Yet again, another lovely stay at Little Gables. Daphne and Phil are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble. When I ordered a takeaway one evening, Phil set me a place at the table, and even warmed up a plate for me! Comfortable bed, soft bed-linen, and a nice modern bathroom - just what you need after a hard day's work. The breakfast was really tasty, and freshly made.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked in a few weeks ago to Little Gables. Great little B&B, clean and well presented. Good breakfast and personal service from Phil and Daphne. Lovely peaceful spot, you would not think you are 5 minutes drive from the centre of Guildford.
Only warning is......don't rely on your "satnav" to get you there.
Would we stay there again. MOST CERTAINLY.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A cosy and original house, woodburner, two sitting rooms, attractive bedrooms, blissful beds, large and varied breakfasts, friendly, helpful hosts and a wonderful setting. Lucky bloke who stayed for 11 weeks!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent eleven weeks at Little Gables, while working on a contract at Surrey Science Park. Little Gables is in an ideal position for Surrey Science Park as one can easily walk from the B&B to the Science Park. Little Gables is in a quiet and secluded place with plenty of off road parking. The rooms are to a high standard with tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a lovely restful stay at Little Gables. What a wonderful location tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of Guildford. We had a very good night's sleep. The breakfast was great and used all local produce which was so tasty. My husband and I both had the full English.
Our hosts Daphne and Phil were great hosts and mad us feel very welcome. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,891 reviews
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
452 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gables

Property: Little Gables
Address: Little Gables Pinks Hill | Wood Street Village, Guildford GU3 3BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Gables is a beautiful Country House Bed and Breakfast in a very special and peaceful rural location on the outskirts of Guildford. All the rooms are individual and decorated to a high standard with en suites or private bathroom. We offer the best of the old and the new with free wi if, flat screen TV's, power showers complemented by oak floors and panelling plus friendly personal service.Very close to the Surrey Research Park, Royal Surrey County Hospital and also convenient for a Surrey University. LIttle Gables is also a great place to stay if you want to visit London for the day, only 35 minutes on the train from Guildford Station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing