We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub/hotel”
Review of Holroyd Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holroyd Arms
Ranked #16 of 22 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked by phone. Spoke to landlady Lisa, who was very helpful re; booking.and was certainly friendly and welcoming on my arrival. Pub itself is ok,definately not "spit and sawdust".and drink prices very reasonable. Rooms are in a seperate block behind the pub, and are basic, but clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay here again. 100 times better then the nearby Travelodge!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and i ,and another couple stayed here on the 3rd of november 2012,
On arrival,the pub looks good from the outside,dont be deceived,once inside,its gloomy,a typical locals pub,spit and sawdust.
We were showed to our rooms,which are in an annexe at the back of the pub grounds.We stayed in rooms 4 and 5,there were only 2 towels in our room(no5) and our friends in room 4,had none.No toileteries,and a thick layer of dust everywhere.
The room door had no handle to close it when leaving.
In the morning,we wanted to make coffee,found no sugar in our tin,and our friends had no milk.
My advice,avoid this place ,the charge is £50 per night,if the charge were £20,you would still be paying too much.

Room Tip: Choose another b and b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spacious room in an annexe behind a busy, noisy but friendly pub with simple food. Room was a bit tatty with a thick layer of dust on top of the wardrobe. Bed was comfortable. TV worked but WiFi did not. Decent shower room with decent towels but no toiletries. Electric heating worked well.

Overall, poor value - I am unlikely to return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Needing a room at short notice in the Guildford area, I took a chance on the Holroyd Arms, mainly because my phone call was answered in such a friendly and helpful manner. I was made to feel that I would be welcome, and this turned out to be absolutely true. I simply don't recognise the Fawlty Towers described by the two-star visitor as the same place!

Yes, the Holroyd Arms is a pub (the clue is in the name) and yes, the accommodation is in a small block away from the road. The benefit of that was a really good night's sleep on a comfortable bed in a nice, clean room. The pub is indeed lively and noisy, but the atmosphere was in no way "too much"; the owner asked if I would like to have my meal served in the room - but I felt sufficiently at ease in the bar to eat quite happily there and even read my book.

Breakfast was chosen from a wide selection of traditional British options, cooked promptly and perfectly, and served with a smile. In fact, it was smiles all the way, and the staff gave a very positive impression of being a team who would go the extra mile to make guests comfortable. Both food and lodging were extremely good value for the area, and I will not hesitate to stay there again when business takes me that way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Arriving at 6.30pm on a Thursday night, we found that dinner was not available in the pub, a local drinking hole. The bedroom quarter was acceptable if dreary, but our bathroom was visibly dirty. The stroppy barman's response was to tell us us to go somewhere else with no refund of our deposit already paid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Couldn't find a room at a decent price in Woking, I came across this one in Guildford.

Wouldn't stay here again.

The place is a neighbourhood pub, the lanlady is friendly and the food is edible but no more. The rooms are in a lodge type affair behind the pub. very gloomy, tiny TV, couldn't get the shower to run at more than a lukewarm dribble.

The place is too far out to walk to, so by the time I'd paid for taxi's and trains to Woking, it cost me about £75 a night anyway

Never again

Room Tip: Spend a bit more on a premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The accommodation is basic, but very good value for money. A twin room for two nights at a total of 116 pounds is very reasonable indeed and I couldn't find anything like that price anywhere else in Guildford when I was looking at short notice. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and always available. A heater which wasn't working properly was replaced immediately. The breakfast is very good, as is the food available during the day. We didn't experience any of the negatives others have written in their reviews. It was very quiet in the accommodation other than the normal noise of people coming in at night to their rooms or leaving in the morning for work. It's very convenient for Guildford town centre. We also liked the pub for it's relaxed, friendly and homely atmosphere. I would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it to anyone else that I know.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norabattyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holroyd Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holroyd Arms

Address: 36 Aldershot Road, Guildford GU2 8AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: $69 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holroyd Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let me introduce myself My name is Andrew and i am the new owner of the Holroyd arms,i have worked here for the previous 3 years as a manager where my hands were firmly tied behind my back where making improvements to the business were concerned. as of October 2014 i became the owner of the business and have made massive strides in making customers visits here more enjoyable,i have addressed most of the issues raised on Trip advisor and am continuing to raise the standards throughout the business,that being said some of t6he reviews placed on this site are way over the top with their critic. If you need a clean,warm and comfortable nights stay for a small budget then we are your destination choice,we are a 2 star rated business and dont claim to be anything but that,but just because of our rating it dose not mean we dont make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately this platform is mainly used by customers who are inclined to complain,we are fully booked week after week and the percentage of complaints to non complaints is about 5% if all our happy customers were to write reviews i wouldnt need to justify myself. So please dont be put off by the old reviews on this site and see for yourselves THE HOLROYD ARMS is a pleasant B&B. ANDREW ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holroyd Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing