We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive menu, but pricey”
Review of Beijing

Beijing
Ranked #82 of 286 Restaurants in Guildford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extensive menu, but pricey”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place should be amazing - the decor is very smart and modern, they have excellent capacity of large groups and the menu is extensive with some nice vegetarian options. However, the service is not amazing - the staff seemed very keen to get us in and out as quickly as possible, plus the drinks are astronomically over priced - £7 for a beer for example! I won't be visiting again unless I come into some money - the food, although delicious, was marred by a bad dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Sleepy_Weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    110
    51
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surreybased
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited on Thursday night with a small group of 6. We all had set menus and added a couple of extra dishes. All of the food was great as it has been on every visit. Service was also good.
Only thing I noticed this time is it was quite, which is very unusual.
Always good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surreybased_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a great family meal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

after reading some reviews that were not complimentary we were a bit worried as 12 of us were dining sunday lunchtime. we need not have worried! Staff were very helpful & happy to do so. Food was excellent. We would have preferred to have chosen our own tip but there is 10% service charge for over 6 people--that is the only fault we found. We will certainly be coming again. thankyou.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Monday night”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here on recommendation with friends on a Monday night. It was busy at 7.15pm which is a good sign. Decor is bling and eye catching. We were greeted warmly and waited in the bar area for our group. Good vibes and atmosphere in the dining room. Waiter smiley and helpful. Food was good and plenty of it. The bill was very reasonable. We had a fun evening and enjoyed ourselves. Definitely recommend this Chinese restaurant .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spoilt a family celebration terrible service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Went there for my Grandaughters birthday meal with all the family. We had been before several times so was dismayed at the miserable service we received. The waitresses were po faced not a smile or any conversation, the drinks were passes over our heads, not served as per etiquette. It appeared that they were not interested, it spoilt the whole evening, but that it would have upset our Grandaughter we did not complain. Will definitely not be hurrying back there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijing also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing