We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Guildford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guildford
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Susses uk
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here on the 12th January 2013. Ideally located to city centre, on walking into to hotel I was greeted with a friendly smile from reception and a beautifull open fire just what you need on a cold winters day.

Check in was great given all the information I needed, the room was clean and spacious being given a choice of two different pillows ( 1 firm and 1 soft ) is a great idea, and the heating worked perfectly in the room ( a cold room is a pet hate of mine).

Only used the bar service was ok staff could do with smiling a little more but very proffesional and quick.

They have a beautiful swimming pool too adding to the hotels warm and welcoming feeling through out. All in all very good stay and would recommend this hotel to any fellow traveler.

Best bit ; Pool and Check in... Staff very friendly proffesional and effiencent. Big thank you to Jerermy for that experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay at the hotel. I have since shared your feedback with my team and in particular Jeremy who looked after you so well. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    269
    143
    30
    15
See reviews for
160
143
32
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked a room for the night of our company Christmas work do, as it was December I guess they inflated their prices, a standard double was advertised for £83, I managed to get it through another site for £75 and going through TopCashBack managed to get a further percentage as cach back.
The room was on the lower level of the hotel, it was a cold room and the heating didn't work, Wi-Fi was charged at £5 per hour
For a bed to get your head down in for one night it was acceptable, but I wouldn't pay £80 for a night again, I would say it is worth about £30.
Location wise, Guildford town centre is a 30 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. With regards to the difference in rate you experienced I have forwarded your comments to our Revenue Management team for their review. The rate advertised on the IHG website has a lowest internet rate guarantee, any cash back schemes would then operate outside of this guarantee, however you did state you paid £75 and not the £83 advertised which needs investigating. I was sorry to hear your stay was below our usual high standards of service and I do hope you will give the hotel another chance when you next require accommodation in Guildford.
Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn at Guildford is easy enough to find as it is very near to the Royal Surrey hospital and the universiry camous, howevere fidning the right entrance to the car park is confusing thanks to the lack of good sign posting. Check in was a long drawn out process as there was only one member of staff who was involved in a lengthy phone call. She did not ackmowledge our presence until she gad finsihed and did not aplogise for the delay.

The room was clean but basic, as these places often are. Tea and coffe making faciities, towels, soap and shampoo all provided, but no instructions for the TV or telephone. We asked for more pillows which were eventually brought to our room an hour or so kater,

Evening sevice in the restaurant was slow, the food expensive, cold and horrible. Fortunately the breakfast was good with plenty of choice, everything from fresh fruit to a full English breakfast on offer, and tea and coffee being served by friendly staff. The breakfast was included in the price.

Cheskout the following morning was as tedious as checki in had been, but this time the reception was staffed by two inefficient, but pleasant, girls.

All in all an expensive overnight stay which was endured out of necessity rather than choice. Hopefully it will not be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jood2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I was most concerned to learn of your disappointment further to your recent stay with us. Please do get in touch at jane.standing@ihg.com as I would welcome the opportunity to make amends. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I am only sorry that this was not the case during your visit.
Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Xmas night as we do most years when we don't have our dogs with us. A big exec room for a modest price. Well equipped and appointed. Well placed near Tescos. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. 'Nuff said

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Don't be fooled by the lush entrance and the classy reception area, this is a seriously sad hotel! At over a £100 per night, you're left wondering exactly what you're getting that you wouldn't get at less than £50 at a Premier Inn. Those room pictures on the website are pure fiction! Our room (a double with sofa bed) was so worn, tatty and tired, I wanted to take a paintbrush to it myself! The furniture was stained; the paint peeling and someone had ripped one of the pictures off the wall leaving only a tragic frame with just a bit of backing-board to look at! The roof must have been leaking too, because the smell outside the room was of musty, mouldy carpet. Nice! And be warned - don't stay during peak holiday season because they don't have a party room. They turn the bar and reception area over to a private disco, which means you either go out to eat or you go hungry! We arrived to a Works Christmas Party. No way could we get a drink at the bar and we couldn't sleep much that night because of the noise. There are a lot of nice Holiday Inn Hotels in the UK. This is most definitely not one of them!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Helen R,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to know that you found our location to be suitable for your needs. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations on this day and we deeply apologize for the issues you encountered with the room and noise levels at the hotel.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful but for the money (£119 single room with no breakfast) I expected more. In particular, I object strongly to having to pay an extra exorbitant fee for internet access. If a cheap hostel can provide wifi for free, why not the Holiday Inn? Also, checkout was very slow as only two staff were on teh desk when a lot of people were trying to check out. No complaints about the room, apart from a wobbly tap and a very stiff shower lever. Overall, could do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review further to your recent stay with us. I was concerned to learn that you experienced a few service issues during your visit which have since been passed to the relevant departmental Manager for their immediate action. I understand your frustrations with the internet, over the years Holiday Inn have invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet. Technically what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth we are able to offer allowing all of our guests excellent speed. We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet offered. Please do get in touch on jane.standing@ihg.com should you wish to stay at the hotel on your next visit to Guildford and I will ensure all runs smoothly for you.
Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

First time at this particular Inn and it was familiar territory by Holiday inn standards. Very clean and all in good order. Good size rooms, ours on ground floor which was convenient. Full bath and good shower. Heated towel rail was cold and reception informed me that this was normal, but would report it. Seemed a strange thing and without it the bathroom was quite cold.
Trouser press, iron and board in room. Tea and coffee. Minibar - empty but apparently will be filled on request. Wifi available but £16 per 24 hours - charging quite common in the industry but this charge is too high. Pity.
Restaurant was busy but decent service and menu. Service charge levied(optional) but this is OK.
Hotel is on outskirts of town with large Tesco adjacent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seawisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I was delighted to read your recent review regarding your visit to the hotel and so pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give your constructive feedback and I do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.
Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
2.8 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guildford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guildford

Property: Holiday Inn Guildford
Address: Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guildford 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Guildford, a modern full-service hotel, close to Guildford Town Centre and only 29 miles from London with easy access via the M25/ A3 and by train. The hotel is located near the Guildford Business Parks & FIVE Exhibition Centre . The hotel offers 168 air conditioned bedrooms including accessible (4) & family rooms. The hotel has high speed internet access available throughout and WIFI in the public areas. Stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford hotel & enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner in the Restaurant or have a 'light bite' in our Bar/Lounge. Kids eat, Stay free!* Holiday Inn Guildford is a Legoland hotel , and also close to other local attractions such as Chessington World of Adventures, Thorpe Park & Wisley Gardens. The Academy Conference Centre at the hotel is a leading Meetings venue in Guildford offering superb meeting rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates with extensive on-site car parking available. The hotel is also a premier Wedding venue in Guildford, Surrey. 'Spirit' at Holiday Inn Guildford is an excellent fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool, fitness studio and gym with a wide range of Beauty treatments available. *Terms & Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Guildford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guildford Hotel Guildford
Guildford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing