We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treasure of a find, serving nice reasonably price food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bulls Head

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bulls Head
Ranked #71 of 281 Restaurants in Guildford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A real treasure of a find, serving nice reasonably price food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We did not know this pub existed until a friend recommended it to us. It very quaint and ls like going back in time. The furnishings are basic and perhaps the seating is not the most comfortable in the world. It has a lot of charm. The home cooked foood is fabulous especially the pies and the portions are big. The food is excellent value but the drinks prices are perhaps a little high. We will certainly come again.In our view it is best for couples or groups of four adults,It is not really really a family pub.The service here was first rate

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank surreytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My favourite pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The signature dish here - Clandon Pie - is just superb! This pub has a lovely atmosphere and gets top marks from me for being dog friendly. I would put it a notch above "good pub food" and the real ales make it worth a journey for us. The portions are huge so work up an appetite before you eat here. The service is great and the atmosphere peaceful. I think it is the sort of place that Americans would swoon over as being typically British. Well worth a visit but get there early if you want best choice of where to sit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nalmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great local pub with really good food. As desert I ordered the Apple Crumble which was absolutely delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank marianneNL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but nicely cooked food. Good portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Bulls Head would not win any awards for comfort or decor it is very basic. However the food is excellent. The home made pies are a real treat and portions are large. Prices are lower than we expected whilst drinks prices are inflated. I suppose the owners have to make a profit but cost of beer and wine is not justified. Good for a good old fashioned British meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Honest British Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you enjoy good honest pub food then you will enjoy your meal at the Bulls Head. Try the Home Made Clandon Pie it was excellent but you wil need a large appertite to eat it all. Prices are very reasonable and the service is good, This is an old coaching inn and it ha a lot of charm a bit of a Dickens era feel about it. The decoration and heating could do with a update.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank RubysRants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulls Head also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing