We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function - Lunchtime Buffet”
Review of The Withies Inn

The Withies Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Withies Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 283 Restaurants in Guildford
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Function - Lunchtime Buffet”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Buffet for 35 people following a family funeral. A wonderful spread was provided and the service was excellent. They were flexible and professional, something which was much appreciated given the circumstances. Very attractive country inn, only a short distance from Guildford Crematorium.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidays140748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    120
    79
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Withies for an evening meal having had lunch there previously.
The pub has a very attractive garden in a surprisingly rural setting considering it is near Guildford.
The restaurant has a great character with the feel of a real 'old English' pub.
The food and service were both excellent.
Overall very good, although a bit expensive for a pub.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrick_huggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lunch in the garden”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went to the Withie with mixed emotions having read the diverse reviews on Tripadvisor. We'd had a marvellous time visiting the Watts gallery nearby as well as a local potter. The weather was very sunny and warm and the inside of the pub seemed a bit dark but I'm sure that on a winters day it would look very different.
We were just having bar snacks but the bar staff were extremely helpful and very charming. We managed to get a seat in a prime location and thoroughly enjoyed our food. My husbands salt beef sandwich was tasty - perhaps not the absolute best in the world but very enjoyable. My Greek salad wasn't very Greek but very tasty.
The whole experience was marvellous - the waiters add a slightly old fashioned touch in their bow ties. I understand what other reviews have said about the old fashioned feel - but that all added to the overall effect.
Since I'm planning another visit to the Watts gallery I asked about booking tables - they don't reserve tables unless you're eating in the restaurant. Apparently they will always find you a table outside - if it's raining then its more difficult but if you arrive early'ish you should be ok.
Clearly there are a lot of affluent locals and I worried that as outsiders we'd be treated as second class but this certainly wasn't the case. I will happily go again - particularly if I've got visitors and want to take them somewhere in beautiful surroundings that is a little bit different.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous & cosy with lovely staff!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building with fabulous features! In winter the inside is stunning & cosy next to the fire... The summer months are blessed with a pretty garden perfect for drinks & a ploughmans!
Must mention Frank - amazing perfect barman who I cannot praise enough!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oldie worldie pub and restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful place, gorgeous food and lovely gardens. The food, although we opted for the snack menu, was lovely and very filling. It was presented well and the taste was excellent. Although the pub was busy the waiters made sure we were made welcome and accommodated our every need.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Withies Inn also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
Gomshall, Guildford
 

Been to The Withies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing