We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back in time - but not in a good way” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Withies Inn

The Withies Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Withies Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 281 Restaurants in Guildford
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going back in time - but not in a good way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Disappointed. This pub was not what I was expecting. The location and atmosphere inside looked promising but the waiters were something out of a failed 80s restaurant wearing waistcoats and dishing up food silver-service style from stainless steel serving dishes. We had two unexceptional steaks that cost £17.50 each (the cheapest) and that was just for a piece of meet and some fried mushrooms. Side dishes cost more. Desserts (we didn't have any) rocked in at £6 each. How can pubs charge central London prices for average (at best) food? I had hoped, with the rise of the true gastropub, that prawn cocktails and crudites and dips had had their day. The mulled wine was virtually undrinkable (I was desperate) and the diet coke tasted like the cheapest cola. Waiters barely civil.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Apentney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    115
    75
    51
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing, delightful restaurant, serving delicious food every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Where can you go nowadays, confident that the food you are going to be served will be excellent every time, well The Withies never fails in this regard. I love the atmosphere, from the warmest of welcomes you receive upon entering the establishment, to the "come back soon and hand shake" when you leave.The staff are sincere and work very hard to make your visit enjoyable and memorable, and the mention of the name "The Withies" always makes me feel good, admittedly I have been a guest for probably the past 25 years and may be ever so slightly biased.
Having said that, I cannot think of anywhere else I would rather dine in the area. It may not suit everyone's taste/style, but one things for sure, its always busy, which says it all to me. If you want to be pampered and not patronized, leave full and satisfied as opposed to almost as hungry as when you went out for your meal, then I would recommend this fine English restaurant to all.
Cannot wait for my next visit, full knowing that things will not have changed since my last.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester / Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“no, it's not only you, it really is a (poor) trip back to the 70's!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Upon arrival, the pub appears very nice. There is a nice bar with an open fire and some reasonable beers. We had booked a table for lunch (by recommendation of my brother who said he had called to reserve, he said to the person on the phone 'I haven't been for 20 years', they replied 'oh well, it hasn't changed'). The trouble is that the UK pub and restaurant trade have changed enormously in the past 20 years... and so have expectations.

It was seriously like stepping into a 1970s Berni Inn. The service was from smarmy Italian waiters and not good at that (we asked for Mustard, jug of water and another beer, none of which arrived. If we hadn't been with another couple, I would certainly have crossed out the 10% service added automatically to the bill.

The food was OK, but certainly not good value. The average cost of our meal (one course plus veg, 2 drinks each, plus coffee) was £33/head. EVERYTHING about the place is 1970s... wine served in cut glass goblets, vegetables served on stainless steel vegetable platters, fancy crockery. Its almost as if its a 1970s theme pub, though I didn't see black forest gateau on the menu... though we didn't look at the dessert menu (little laminated folded cards... clearly staple desserts that never change)

The thing is, the place was busy, so there is certainly no shortage of people who enjoy it there.
I'd be happy to visit there for a beer but wouldn't recommend it other than that

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Would return with ease (Withies...get it?)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This appears to be an olde-world inn, low ceilings, tobacco walls and beams aplenty. Then you look at the menu and it is a delightfully retro selection if dishes, reminiscent of the seventies: seafood crepes, whitebait, garlic mushrooms (we had the latter two and they were plentiful and delicious).
For our mains we had steaks and Beef Wellington, not amazing but very good. A fabulous selection of vegetables ( at additional cost) were silver served to us - yes, silver service!
Perhaps the best thing about this delightfully quaint restaurant are the fantastic waiters...fab repartee and amazing service. A real treat and definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family business which is a well oiled machine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is always busy because they have a fairly simple set up which they run well with a friendly touch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ErnieGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Withies Inn also viewed

 
Shamley Green, Guildford
 

Been to The Withies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing