We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are looking for the best B&B in the West Highlands go to the Torlundy House. The breakfast is superb and the host Michael has always very good ideas how to spend your day in a very pleasant way. Not only my room but the whole Torlundy House is furthermore very clean. It is in one word FANTASTIC. Henk

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

hcv14, thank you for the great words in your review of your stay with us. It was great fun having you here for a few days and I know you did get a lot out of your stay as you were out exploring all the time. I sincerely hope that we will see you back here again sometime in the future. Breakfast is one of our specialities, it has to set you up for the day and make you feel good. Very best wishes, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really good b&b, very clean and Michael was a very nice host. Was there for the weekend climbing Ben Nevis for the celtic charity foundation which is hoping to become an annual event so will definitely stay again next year if my legs have recovered by then:-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

I am pleased you made it to the top of the Ben Linzi 1888 and I trust you raised a lot of money for the charity. Maybe a little more training before the next time!!!

IK am pleased that your stay with us was a good experience and I look forward to seeing you again next year if the event becomes an annual one. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed at many 5 star hotels throughout Europe and this hotel is easily one of the best. The level of service and facilities are superb, you are made to feel welcome from the minute you walk in. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visting Scotland.
John.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjhind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Johnijhind, good to have you with us and thank you for your compliments in your review of your stay with us. Nice to think we are on a par with 5 Star places in Europe. It is pleasing to know that what we do is appreciated and enjoyed by so many of our guests, and we always appreciate the feedback and comments that other people can see before they decide where to stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon. The usual welcome awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the moment we walked into the house, everything was perfect. Michael was an excellent host, giving advice to help us plan ours days and evenings. The house was immaculate and we felt extremely comfortable and welcome. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. It was great to be able to use the lounge for relaxation before heading out for some excellent evening meals......the Old Station Restaurant is a must!
Breakfast was amazing, extremely well prepared, with plenty of choice.
The location was great, with a view of Ben Nevis encouraging us to rise to the challenge. What a challenge it was!!
A great four night stay. Thoroughly recommended. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you Susan M. I am so pleased that you feel your choice to stay with us at Torlundy House was perfect. It is always great to be able to help guests get the most from their stay with us, be it for a night of two or longer like you and your party. I trust you are all now recovered from your adventure up the "Ben", just pleased you managed it.

I do look forward to you coming to stay with us again on your next trip to the Highlands. Thank you again and very best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were welcomed with a warm drink and biscuits and cake. Michael then gave us a potted guide to the area, and recommended places to visit for our evening meals. His choices were superb. Our room was excellent. Everything about it found favour. We enjoyed very comfortable nights, and woke to excellent breakfasts. The choice matched what we have been offered in five star hotels, and we were not disappointed with the taste. The breakfasts were excellent. As the week progressed we came to rely on Michael's help. There was helpful advise available on places and sites to visit, with very specific routes, so we could fully enjoy the many attractions of the area. This was our first visit to the region, we will return, and when we do, we will stay at Torlundy House.
Brian W.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Brian W, thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. I have to say it was great having you stay with us for the week, you were good company and you also made sure you got as much out of your stay as possible.

I am also pleased that you found our recommendations of all forms, both touring and eating out good. It really is our aim to help our guests enjoy their holiday. Thank you again and now that you have had a taster of the area we will look forward to seeing you back at Torlundy House again as soon as you can make it. Very best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent service with very friendly host, willing to help with literally every problem you encounter (even if it is caused by your own stupidity). Best B&B I've ever been in.
The rooms are clean, the towels are like the ones you get in five star hotels. The breakfast, well, the breakfast, oh man... I still dream of that at night. The evening before you can choose your breakfast from an extended list, and at which time you want to eat it. Besides that, there is the best creamy yoghurt I ever had and fresh cut fruit and tasty cereal to go with it.
The scenic routes advised by the owner are very comprehensive and full of excellent tips, including suggestions about where to have dinner. Follow these suggestions.
This is more a five star little hotel with a very personal touch then "just" a B&B.
If I go back to the Highlands (and I certainly will) I will definitely stay here, I won't bother to look for another B&B any more.

Room Tip: I was with my cousin and we had a room each, she in the front side of the house and I overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brix68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Brix68 and thank you for your great compliments about Torlundy House. I have to say it was a real pleasure having you and your cousin stay here for a few days. You were always bright and cheerful and that made having you stay here fantastic. I will hold you to your promise to come back and stay with us again. We may even have some more tour information for you.

Very best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently enjoyed two nights at Torlundy House and we received a very warm welcome from Michael including tea and biscuits, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, advice and local knowledge about weather, restaurants etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Michael even though we had not told him that we required Soya milk as I had a dairy intolerance,Michael went out of his way to get us some Soya milk and spread. Thanks again, Susan from Cheshire.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaH848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you Sylvia H for your review of Torlundy House. I am glad you found your time here comfortable and enjoyable. It is always a pleasure to ensure that our guests have a good time and if we can obtain the things they need that is great as well. Since it is not possible for a small guest house like ours to stock all the different things people may require for their diet it is always good to know in advance. However if we have to dash out at short notice to get them we will if we can. We can get most things, but just in case notice is always good. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#2 of 111 in Fort William
510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range: $103 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing