We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big ben nevis”

Nevis Range Mountain Experience
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Torlundy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: NEVIS RANGE Mountain Experience is in the heart of the Highlands of Scotland, 7 miles north of Fort William. The mountain gondola will transport you to 650m on Aonach Mor where you'll find the Snowgoose restaurant & bar with awesome views, mountain trails, kids play area, and the Mountain discovery Centre (summer only). In the winter, we're open for sledging, skiing and boarding. There's biking for all in Leanachan forest, plus bike wash, bike hire and a skills park. The NEVIS downhill track (with gondola uplift) hosts the Mountian Bike World Cup each year and there's the new red Route opening in summer 2009. We hope you love it as much as we do!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“big ben nevis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

what an experience dangling on a wire going up the mountain , a bit scarey but what a view from the top , you could see the isle of skye

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 270156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    438
    77
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I always passed this attraction whenever i was in the area but decided to give it a blast last time i was in Fort William.

I had a nice surprised when i done it and wondered why i did not try it before, it was nice heading up to the top watching the mountain bikes dashing around beneath you, once at the top we had a nice snack at the cafe and had a stroll around, it was fairly windy and we had great views over to Loch linnhe and Fort William.

You never get the feeling you are to high off the ground as the car follows the incline up the mountain.

Wort a go if you like mountains and great views

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gregmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little view points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lazy way up is the gondola - which we used. The view from the viewpoints is well worth the easy 5 - 10 mins to walk to. And the mountain bikes are fun to watch from the gondola.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimagify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Definitely worth spending a morning going up just for the view. A nice little cafe at the top.

Warning: it is FREEZING up there. Also, in Winter there are no buses on Sundays, but you can get a taxi for about 15 GBP one way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StephVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“UP UP AND AWAY IN CABLE CAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Views of sea , islands and snow covered mountains are incomparable! Cafe at top is rustic . Not a cheap experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobessonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevis Range Mountain Experience also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Banavie, Fort William
 

Been to Nevis Range Mountain Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing