We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leith Hill

Leith Hill
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favourite spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Walking, cycling or driving is just a perfect way to spend time in this forest near Dorking. I love the views and the atmosphere. Plenty of parking places, pretty villages, good pubs. Everything you need for a perfect day out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hola_miola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    73
    9
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London Gatwick
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best kept bluebell secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Totally blown away by Frank's wood; the best bluebell wood I have ever seen in my life.

Almost reluctant to recommend as don't want the crowds running there....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BlondeAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mayday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The weather! The woods, the history of Surrey Hills, the picturesque villages, the walking trails, the tranquillity of the woods, the cakes at The Leith Hill tower, the pubs (The Parrot at Forrest Green, The Abinger Hatch at Abinger Common, the post office at Abinger Hammer, the views! Fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good strenuous walk. Grate for 4 x 4 off roading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The byways up the hill from Coldharbour are grate for the off road beginner in the evenings.

A good ramble at the weekends but look out for the lunatic mountain bikers who are intent on killing themselves, even if it does mean taking out a few ramblers too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bighood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, a must for a sunny day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a hot April day, my chappy and I parked in one of the lower car parks of Leith Hill and walked to the summit, to enjoy the fabulous views across Surrey, The Weald and London to the North. The geography of the area, with the sand of North Surrey, hitting the clay of the Weald makes for some stunning hill and eerie roads/tracks in deep gullies. We went up the little tower at the top of the hills and took the obligatory photos and enjoyed a piece of cake from the little kiosk. This was followed by a trek down the hill to Friday Street and the beautiful Stephen Langton pub for a drink (we would have loved a sandwich, but food stops at 14:30hrs). I parked in the Coldharbour Area, but next time I think I will come at the Walk from the Abinger Common area, which whilst out of the sun and tall views, is a very beautiful forested area.

I will be back, if only to start earlier and have a lunch in the Stephan Langton pub.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Citygirl-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leith Hill also viewed

 

Been to Leith Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing