We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked well presented food”
Review of The Dukes Head

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dukes Head
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Lincolnshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautifully cooked well presented food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

No indication that this is a hotel any more so the TripAdvisor title is possibly misleading. Plenty of parking outside. The interior is basic but we were given a friendly welcome and well looked after all evening. The printed menu has reasonable choice and there were some interesting specials on a blackboard. We also noted another board with an extensive selection of vegetarian options.

Our meals were excellent. Beautifully cooked and perfectly presented. Excellent value. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pjlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Popped in again whilst visiting family - yet another good meal with good service. This is the one pub that I shall make the effort to visit for dinner whilst visiting relatives!

Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We called in yesterday after playing golf at Slinfold. My wife Rosie and I sat in the spacious garden, had a couple of really good house spicy burgers washed down with a bottle of Excellant wine, recommended by the guy behind the bar. He was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A couple of hours later we continued our homeward trip to Cobham. We have some good pubs in Cobham but the Dukes Head topped them all! This is a genuine, non related opinion of the Dukes Head and we unreservedly recommend the place to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONE1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good selection on the Menu we had a delightful three course meal very well cooked and presented, good drinks selection beers ,lagers, ciders, wines etc All the staff were very friendly
and made us feel very welcome nothing was to much trouble .Would recommend the DUKES HEAD to everyone. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

3 friends and I recently had the pleasure of eating at the Dukes head. The food is home made, well presented and most importantly very tasty. The menu is plentiful, something for everyone The staff are so friendly which makes for a lovely atmosphere. Parking is easy with lots of room in the carpark. I think this place is a little gem and will definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

So, as I was born in Dorking I have passed this place a thousand times - and probably correctly judging by the OLD reviews. But since the refurb and latest people took it on, I saw the Tripadvisor reports and gave it a go ... and so glad I did too.

Now - "niggles" - the menu is quite short, but there is something there for everyone. Whether you could eat there 2 nights running or not ... I may struggle. BUT - my wife is veggie and the veggie choices were fantastic! Not on the regular menu, by the veggie specials were great (so yes .. I WOULD eat there 2 days in a row!)

Another "niggle" - the beer was "OK". I love a decent pint of real ale, and this was not as fresh as I would like, but there are loads of reasons for this, so again ... no big deal.

Now - the positives. Fantastic staff! Seriously the best service I have ever had in Dorking. lovely, attentive without being over the top, and just so friendly!

Food - the best chips I have ever had! They were perfect, crunchy on the outside and like the best mash ever on the inside ... fantastic!

Cuban Burger ... I loved it. Top 5 burgers I have ever had. You could taste the meat as well as the gentle spices.

I bet they do a great Sunday lunch ... and I am aiming for this soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Decided to try out the Dukes Head for a family meal and am very glad that we gave it a chance - I remember this pub from many years ago and it has undergone great changes

The staff are lovely, the food was really well cooked and presented and it was also priced well, Husband was pleased with the choice of beer available too.

Will return on our next visit South

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.3 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
108 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.0 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head

Property: The Dukes Head
Address: Horsham Road | Beare Green, Dorking RH5 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dukes Head 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely early 18th century former coaching inn situated in the picturesque South Downs. Open fires, fine food and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing