We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have not stayed just visited...Not wheelchair friendly”
Review of Surrey Hills Hotel

Surrey Hills Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surrey Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we went for the Dinner Dance Cabaret Night
Was shocked to find no disabled access and no disabled Toilet this hotel needs to step into the real world
Food was good except for the really burnt roast potatoes
Cabaret night great atmosphere at first then DJ let his son have free range this is the way to clear the dance floor thought i was in Ibiza
The Comedian booked did 25mins he was not too bad but didn’t tell jokes as such more like banter with the crowd that was there, oh and he did a bit of singing

If they put in the necessary changes to make it accessible i would go back

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank pinksanlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Surrey Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2007

When we arrived at the hotel to say we had an odd reception would be an understatement. The receptionist was not the most communicative and took ages to take our payment. As we were staying at the hotel purely because we were spending the evening in nearby Dorking, and would be back at the hotel rather late, we enquired about getting back in when we returned. We were told that the hotel would be locked and we had to use the back fire escape to re-enter, and were given a key. We thought this strange.

When we returned it was clear that we were the only people staying which felt a bit strange. Only our cars were in the car park. We had a problem finding the fire escape but eventually found it and got back in and to our rooms. The next morning everywhere was still locked and appeared to be totally deserted apart from us. The only way out was via the fire escape.

Although the hotel and rooms were clean and tidy, albeit with cheap furnishings, I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to others. All in all a strange and slightly un-nerving experience although in hind-sight quite funny.

I've stayed in many hotels, some a bit odd, but nothing quite as strange as the Surrey Hills!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank itbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

I arrived at the hotel and was greeted with a warm welcome, then showed to my room. the decor was very dated but I thought at the time clean. There are no restaurants in walking distance and I walked for about an hour until I came across a pub in a village. The next morning I woke up to find no tea bags so I checked the pot in case they had been placed in there. To my horror was a stale pot of tea. I searched the room and decided to go down stairs for some tea bags. There was not a sole about, all the doors was locked and I was locked in the hotel as the only guest. I tried every door in the hotle to get out and even called the hotels number which went straight to answer machine. what topped this off was that I had no toilet paper and I had to exit the hotel by the fire escape. I have to say that this stay was the strangest place I have ever stayed in and will never stay again.

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank LymmLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
Thank Fraheij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
173 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
219 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
183 reviews
8.0 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
567 reviews
8.2 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Hills Hotel

Address: Horsham Road, Dorking RH5 4PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: $90 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrey Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surrey Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Hills Hotel Dorking, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing